The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3 point FG good, or NOT? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18682-3-point-fg-good-not.html)

thumpferee Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:12pm

Situation. 3 man. HS VBoys. 4th Qtr. Close game.

I am L in transition. A1 gets the ball deep in the corner. I get wide. A1 fakes a drive and pulls up for a three. I sneak a peak at his feet and the shot is clearly a 3. As A1 is in the air on the shot, I focus on activity underneath. The ball goes in. I look up to verify my p signals the 3, he doesn't. I whistle and stop play to inform my p what I saw. I tell him his feet were definately behind the 3 point arc. He tells me it is his call as the T and since he didn't signal it as a 3, it should count as a 2. He did not change it to a 3.

How should this have been handled?

Thanks!

Red_Killian Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:20pm

By the book, it's the T's primary but in transition I always pre-game the L can and should help out. Sounds like he was going to count it as a 2 regardless of your input. Based on your post, even if you had given the 3 attempt, he probably would have over-ruled you. Given the input from the L, I as the T would have changed it to a 3 if I did not have definite view the shooter was on/over the line.

tjones1 Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:22pm

Well I would agree that it is his call (his primary). However, you were in transition. When you two got together, did he tell you that he saw his foot on the line or what was his reasoning for it being a two other than it was his call?

BktBallRef Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
However, you were in transition.
Where did he say he was in transition?

thumpferee, who was the R?

LouisianaDave Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:32pm

Even though its his call if you have definite knowledge that its a 3 then it should be counted as a 3. But as previous posters said, it seems as if your partner was gonna sink or swim with the call regardless of what you saw, so if it was me, let him call it, all you can do is tell him what you saw.

But thats just my Opinion.

thumpferee Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Well I would agree that it is his call (his primary). However, you were in transition. When you two got together, did he tell you that he saw his foot on the line or what was his reasoning for it being a two other than it was his call?
He thought his foot was on the line. He was 30 feet away, I was 3 feet away.

thumpferee Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
However, you were in transition.
Where did he say he was in transition?

thumpferee, who was the R?


I was actually the R for this one. He was just crossing half court as the shot went up.

Rich Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Well I would agree that it is his call (his primary). However, you were in transition. When you two got together, did he tell you that he saw his foot on the line or what was his reasoning for it being a two other than it was his call?
He thought his foot was on the line. He was 30 feet away, I was 3 feet away.

As far as I'm concerned, if you stopped play to talk to me we're going with the 3. Why get into a pi$$ing match over it -- obviously you had a better look. But I wasn't your trail.

canuckrefguy Mon Feb 21, 2005 05:48pm

Get the call right. Y'all can talk later about who was looking where. Shouldn't be a big deal either way. The important thing is to get it right, and look professional doing it.

ditttoo Mon Feb 21, 2005 10:00pm

So much for teamwork. Each of the three is part of a team and if one of the team "helps" the other "get it right" just how big is this guy's ego? Or better yet, how big of a knucklehead is he?

As the R, it's a 3...now for the next question as to why didn't he "trust" you when you said you clearly saw the 3? I think I'd have a nice "visit" with this cat afterwards.

tjones1 Mon Feb 21, 2005 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
However, you were in transition.
Where did he say he was in transition?

First sentence

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 12:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by ditttoo
So much for teamwork. Each of the three is part of a team and if one of the team "helps" the other "get it right" just how big is this guy's ego? Or better yet, how big of a knucklehead is he?

As the R, it's a 3...now for the next question as to why didn't he "trust" you when you said you clearly saw the 3? I think I'd have a nice "visit" with this cat afterwards.

"As the R, it's a 3?" You can't overrule on this play. Unfortunately, the T was right. It's his call. In transition on this, I'd have signaled the 3 attempt. Let him tell the gym it was only a two after that if he wants to be an a$$.
Neither official can overrule the other's call.

lrpalmer3 Tue Feb 22, 2005 06:06am

I was told that if you did not see a foot on the line, count it as a three. He is saying that he saw nothing, so leave it as a 2? After hearing something like this from my partner, the phrase "Get in. Get done. Get out." takes on new meaning.

ditttoo Tue Feb 22, 2005 08:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by ditttoo
So much for teamwork. Each of the three is part of a team and if one of the team "helps" the other "get it right" just how big is this guy's ego? Or better yet, how big of a knucklehead is he?

As the R, it's a 3...now for the next question as to why didn't he "trust" you when you said you clearly saw the 3? I think I'd have a nice "visit" with this cat afterwards.

"As the R, it's a 3?" You can't overrule on this play. Unfortunately, the T was right. It's his call. In transition on this, I'd have signaled the 3 attempt. Let him tell the gym it was only a two after that if he wants to be an a$$.
Neither official can overrule the other's call.

Can't overrule? GET IT RIGHT! One official definitely has knowledge, the other doesn't so you're going with the one who "guessed" over the one who "knew"? Definitely get in, get done, get out...

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 22, 2005 08:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by ditttoo
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by ditttoo
So much for teamwork. Each of the three is part of a team and if one of the team "helps" the other "get it right" just how big is this guy's ego? Or better yet, how big of a knucklehead is he?

As the R, it's a 3...now for the next question as to why didn't he "trust" you when you said you clearly saw the 3? I think I'd have a nice "visit" with this cat afterwards.

"As the R, it's a 3?" You can't overrule on this play. Unfortunately, the T was right. It's his call. In transition on this, I'd have signaled the 3 attempt. Let him tell the gym it was only a two after that if he wants to be an a$$.
Neither official can overrule the other's call.

Can't overrule? GET IT RIGHT! One official definitely has knowledge, the other doesn't so you're going with the one who "guessed" over the one who "knew"? Definitely get in, get done, get out...

As Snaqs said, right or wrong, you can't overrule your partner's call. The rules wont let you- NFHS rule 2-6. If your partner made the call and he still insists that it's the right one, then your crew is just gonna have to live and die with his call.

FrankHtown Tue Feb 22, 2005 08:46am

How about 2-5-3..The Referee shall...decide whether a goal shall count if the officials disagree.

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
How about 2-5-3..The Referee shall...decide whether a goal shall count if the officials disagree.

Not the same thing. We're not disputing whether this goal should count; it's a question of how much it counts for.

FrankHtown Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:34am

You could interpret it as "should the goal count as a 3 or a 2"

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
You could interpret it as "should the goal count as a 3 or a 2"
Maybe you could. But I can't. ;)

Here's a scenario. Double whistle on a foul by B1 on shooter A1. Ball goes in the hoop. You give it up to your partner because it's in his primary. He calls the block and waves off the shot, but you're positive the shot should count. You're the R. You think you can overrule based on this rule?

FrankHtown Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:51am

I don't overrule, I offer assistance.

Would it have been Ok for thumpferee , since they were in transition, to signal a 3-attempt? For example, in transition, the C can call fouls across the court, in areas which would be the new lead's primary, until the offensive team is in front court set-up.

In this scenario, the new lead is right there, the new Trail may be 50 feet behind the play, if it really was a fast break. Should the new L signal a 3-attempt?

FrankHtown Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:52am

Sorry...correct "new lead's area" to "new Trail's area"

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:16am

In transition, I'd signal the attempt, and then probably the touchdown as well when I noticed my partner didn't do it.

mick Tue Feb 22, 2005 11:31am

Womens DIII. I'm C opposite.
Shot at top of key, toe on the line.
I show "2" to trail, who signalled "3".
I held my "2" and eyeballed partner, who then changed the call as he passed the table.

zebra44 Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:34pm

Mick had eyesight,communication,understanding partner,they got it right, they got in, got it done, got out. Period.

Ron Pilo Tue Feb 22, 2005 03:46pm

Pre-game item...........In my pre-game I ask the question on how we want to handle this very thing. We usually agree, If an off official is 110% su8re the calling official is incorrect we crack the whistle and fix it right away.......Leave the egos in the locker room.

ditttoo Wed Feb 23, 2005 09:46pm

Whatever happened to "call what you SAW"? Seems someone has some explaining to do. BUT - GET IT RIGHT!!

Sounds similar to, "yeah coach I saw the foul but it's not in my area". That's why they call it a PRIMARY opposed to simply "your area".

Fully understand and appreciate everybody's AREA but I gotta go with "definite knowledge" over a guess any and every day...it's a 3 and it shouldn't be that difficult.

Wouldn't it be ironic if next trip down the "guesser" asks for help with sideline call and you give him a definite call only to have him ponder for a moment and then reverse your definite direction for the opposite based off of a "hunch"...now wouldn't that make for a great game.

Mlancaster Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:39am

Yep..This probably should be pregamed...BUT, any decent official should know that a partner will not blow a whistle to over rule in a case like this unless he/she is 110% sure of what he/she saw.
The official that missed it in this case was wrong in even talking to his partner after the partner called for the "3".
He should just suck it up and move on...not make an *** out of himself and his partner by "over ruling the over rule"

mick Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mlancaster
unless he/she is 110% sure of what he/she saw.

110% ???? :rolleyes:
mick


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1