The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 10:56am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
A1 is entitled to a spot on the floor, even if she's on her back. B1 cannot occupy the same space. I'd call foul on B1 if it was a "dive."
I'm with Bob -- while the player is entitled to the spot on the floor we still have to look at advantage/disadvantage. If the dive was at the ball and caused a held ball, any subsequent contact is pretty much irrelevant, unless "intentional or flagrant."
Must be a pretty small girl if she can dive and land only on the ball.

I'm visualizing this as a foul.
Contact does not equal foul. If she dives in with her hands and wraps up the ball, I don't care if there's some incidental contact. I'm not penalizing agressive play just ecause there may have been a bump on the floor.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1