The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2005, 01:26pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

What about a foul on a rebounder who is attempting to tap the ball into the goal? We put them at the line even if the foul occurred before they actually contacted the ball, don't we? [/B]
As MTD said, we had better not be putting them on the line if the foul occurred before the "tap". That's would be completely wrong, by rule. The definition of a "tap" says that it's "the contacting of the ball with any part of the player's hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket. If they are fouled before contacting the ball, then they are being fouled before they are "tapping" the ball. It's no different than the foul being committed on the dribbler before he picks the ball up to shoot. In both cases, they haven't met the rule book definition of being fouled during a "try" or "tap".
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1