![]() |
Our association has had this discussion in the past.
Team A on a spot throw in.. A. Foot touches the out of bounds line B Foot touches line and court C Foot touches only Court Obviously C is a violation. I have heard the rational that the line is out of bounds so A nd B are legal.... This seems to be against the spirit of the out of bounds throw in. thoughts.... thanks in advance Stew in VA CVBOA |
would have to say A is LEGAL, because you would still be considered OOB!
But B,C are considered on the court, therefore would be a violation! |
Quote:
The rules state that the INSIDE edge of the line is the boundary, so the ENTIRE line on a throw-in is OOB. |
I had a JV game a few weeks ago where the girls asked this question, since the OOB line is roughtly two feet wide. I explained to them that the line itself is out of bounds, so they need only stand on the line to be legal for a throwin. Imagine if I'd made them stand behind this "line." :)
Not all courts have a "line," either. Some just have a paint change. Adam |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30pm. |