![]() |
Last friday GV game. The ball is tossed for the initial jump ball and A1 and B1 grab the ball at the same time. We called a held ball.
My question is this: If possession has not been determined don't the two players that caused the held ball participate in the jump ball or do the two original jumpers jump again. I thought that I had read somewhere that the two involved in the held ball will jump this time. I also left the clock with 4 seconds expired from the clock. Did I do good or bad in this situation? Thanks. |
You done right. Leave the clock as is. The two players who tied the ball up in this situation now become jumpers.
|
"Let's try this again"!
Re-jump with 7:56 on the clock! |
I was U in a 2 person game. Jumper for team A taps the ball, than catches it. Something goes off in the back of my mind, but I froze on it. Coach is yelling. First dead ball I go over and calmly explain to the coach that the jumper can catch the ball if it hits a non-jumper, the floor, a basket or a backboard. He says, "But it didn't touch any of those things." I said "you're right coach, and that's why I screwed it up."
I wish I had known about the "I'll give you the next 2 out of 3." |
Thump,
With the original jumpers or with the new jumpers? |
Quote:
A2 and B2! 6.4.1 Sit C (b,c) |
Thanks
That is what I thought.
Thanks |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I should have just said "new jumpers" or the two which caused the held ball. Is that better Camron? [Edited by thumpferee on Feb 15th, 2005 at 09:32 AM] |
Here's something that happened this weekend. On the initial jump, three players tied up the ball---A1, B1 and B2. Clearly we have a new jump ball with A1 and one of B1 or B2. The question is, who decides?
(In the actual game, which was GJV, A1 was about 4'6", B1 was about 5'2", and B2 was about 5'10". The referee told A1 to jump against B1 so it wouldn't be completely absurd because of the difference in height.) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27am. |