The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timeout for substitution (NCAA) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18457-timeout-substitution-ncaa.html)

Jay R Sun Feb 13, 2005 09:16pm

Team A calls a timeout for substitution. They have one full TO and one 30 second TO left. I told the scorer at the table to charge the 30 second TO, not the full. Was I correct?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 13, 2005 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Team A calls a timeout for substitution. They have one full TO and one 30 second TO left. I told the scorer at the table to charge the 30 second TO, not the full. Was I correct?


Under NCAA rules, a team can burn a 30 sec time-out to bring a substitute into the game. As soon as the substitute enters the game the time-out warning should be sounded and play resumed.

MTD, Sr.

lrpalmer3 Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:32pm

I'm glad you all brought this up because I just saw it in a game and meant to bring it here.

NCAA: A1 calls timeout for a sub, informing the official of such as soon he blows the whistle. Can Team B even go to their bench area? Calling team can end a time out whenever their ready, right?

NFHS: I don't think any of this applies does it?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
I'm glad you all brought this up because I just saw it in a game and meant to bring it here.

NCAA: A1 calls timeout for a sub, informing the official of such as soon he blows the whistle. Can Team B even go to their bench area? Calling team can end a time out whenever their ready, right?

NFHS: I don't think any of this applies does it?


Per NFHS Rules, it does not.

MTD, Sr.

Jay R Mon Feb 14, 2005 08:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
I'm glad you all brought this up because I just saw it in a game and meant to bring it here.

NCAA: A1 calls timeout for a sub, informing the official of such as soon he blows the whistle. Can Team B even go to their bench area? Calling team can end a time out whenever their ready, right?

NFHS: I don't think any of this applies does it?

Team B is not allowed to go to their bench. They can also substitute, but the game resumes as soon as the subs are in.

For regular TOs, the calling team can come out early if they wish, the first warning horn would then be sounded and play resumes 15 seconds later.

Adam Mon Feb 14, 2005 09:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by lrpalmer3
I'm glad you all brought this up because I just saw it in a game and meant to bring it here.

NCAA: A1 calls timeout for a sub, informing the official of such as soon he blows the whistle. Can Team B even go to their bench area? Calling team can end a time out whenever their ready, right?

NFHS: I don't think any of this applies does it?

The only way this works in NFHS is if both teams are ready to go early. If team B wants to use A's timeout, they are entitled to it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1