The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal court status (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18397-illegal-court-status.html)

RUBIERA Fri Feb 11, 2005 01:05pm

Hi everyone
Talking about court status, someone in this forum give this example maybe 3 or 4 days ago. (I can't find it)

A1 has the ball and A1 is running and know he is going to go OOB so he pass the ball to A2, A1 came back to the court and A2 pass the ball back.

While A1 is coming back into the court he has his right foot inside the court and his left foot is still in the air when he get the pass.

In the post that I saw was said that A1 was legally in the court and he was not OOB when he got the ball.

I been reading my NFHS referee refreshment test (so I can remember more cases and apply to the game) and I found this question....>>>>
B1 has one foot touching the boundary line. B1 lifts the foot in the air and prior to placing it back to the playing court A1 charges B1. Official charges A1 with a player control foul. Is the official correct?? the answer is (NO) the official is not correct.

In this case the official is not correct because B1 have not establish a legal court status. So looking at the first example A1 has not establish a legal court status so there for he is still OOB when he receive the ball.

Comment please.
Reyes

Dan_ref Fri Feb 11, 2005 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
Hi everyone
Talking about court status, someone in this forum give this example maybe 3 or 4 days ago. (I can't find it)

A1 has the ball and A1 is running and know he is going to go OOB so he pass the ball to A2, A1 came back to the court and A2 pass the ball back.

While A1 is coming back into the court he has his right foot inside the court and his left foot is still in the air when he get the pass.

In the post that I saw was said that A1 was legally in the court and he was not OOB when he got the ball.

I been reading my NFHS referee refreshment test (so I can remember more cases and apply to the game) and I found this question....>>>>
B1 has one foot touching the boundary line. B1 lifts the foot in the air and prior to placing it back to the playing court A1 charges B1. Official charges A1 with a player control foul. Is the official correct?? the answer is (NO) the official is not correct.

In this case the official is not correct because B1 have not establish a legal court status. So looking at the first example A1 has not establish a legal court status so there for he is still OOB when he receive the ball.

Comment please.
Reyes

LGP = both feet on the court facing the opponent.

Not 1 foot, 2 feet. B1 did not, by rule, establish LGP.

BTW, If I was "the official"'s partner he & I would have a talk at halftime. ;)

Adam Fri Feb 11, 2005 01:10pm

Two separate issues, Reyes. The first is regarding the establishment of legal guarding position. In the case book play, if B1 were to touch the ball with the foot (that had been oob) in the air, it would not be OOB. Contact is a block here because he didn't establish Legal Guarding Position.
The rules are clear that in order for a player to be in bounds, he only needs one foot down and nothing touching the OOB area.

RUBIERA Fri Feb 11, 2005 01:25pm

Thank you snaqwells for the clarification on that point.

Reyes

Dan_ref Fri Feb 11, 2005 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
Thank you snaqwells for the clarification on that point.

Reyes

What am I? A piece of furniture??

:p

rainmaker Fri Feb 11, 2005 01:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
I been reading my NFHS referee refreshment test ...
Which refreshments were on this test? Did they include anything brown? Or just water? ;)

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 11, 2005 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
Thank you snaqwells for the clarification on that point.

Reyes

What am I? A piece of furniture??


Actually we think of you more as a
http://www.punchstock.com/image/bran...p/bxp39447.jpg

SamIAm Fri Feb 11, 2005 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Two separate issues, Reyes. The first is regarding the establishment of legal guarding position. In the case book play, if B1 were to touch the ball with the foot (that had been oob) in the air, it would not be OOB. Contact is a block here because he didn't establish Legal Guarding Position.
The rules are clear that in order for a player to be in bounds, he only needs one foot down and nothing touching the OOB area.

Wouldn't that be a kick ball? :)
Too Easy.

Dan_ref Fri Feb 11, 2005 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
Thank you snaqwells for the clarification on that point.

Reyes

What am I? A piece of furniture??


Actually we think of you more as a

Oooooo...the nice brushed aluminum kind...

btw, while I'm thinking of it...

http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/~mcgrof/PI...dle-finger.png

Adam Fri Feb 11, 2005 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Two separate issues, Reyes. The first is regarding the establishment of legal guarding position. In the case book play, if B1 were to touch the ball with the foot (that had been oob) in the air, it would not be OOB. Contact is a block here because he didn't establish Legal Guarding Position.
The rules are clear that in order for a player to be in bounds, he only needs one foot down and nothing touching the OOB area.

Wouldn't that be a kick ball? :)
Too Easy.

:) Only if it was intentional.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 11, 2005 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
Thank you snaqwells for the clarification on that point.

Reyes

What am I? A piece of furniture??


Actually we think of you more as a

Oooooo...the nice brushed aluminum kind...

btw, while I'm thinking of it...

http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/~mcgrof/PI...dle-finger.png

Well, I was being <b>nice</b>. It's nice to be nice. But if you're gonna be like <b>that</b>, iow- <b>not</b> nice, I'll go with my original answer to your furniture question:
http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuild.../h00042_04.jpg

Dan_ref Fri Feb 11, 2005 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by RUBIERA
Thank you snaqwells for the clarification on that point.

Reyes

What am I? A piece of furniture??


Actually we think of you more as a

Oooooo...the nice brushed aluminum kind...

btw, while I'm thinking of it...

http://ruslug.rutgers.edu/~mcgrof/PI...dle-finger.png

Well, I was being <b>nice</b>. It's nice to be nice. But if you're gonna be like <b>that</b>, iow- <b>not</b> nice, I'll go with my original answer to your furniture question:
http://www.taunton.com/finehomebuild.../h00042_04.jpg

Nice, but I'm not sure this qualifies as furniture.

More like a fixture.

Like you, wandering around the bus station in your bath robe, slippers and party hat, wondering when Teddy Roosevelt's campaign bus is gonna arrive.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 11, 2005 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Like you, wandering around the bus station in your bath robe, slippers and party hat, wondering when Teddy Roosevelt's campaign bus is gonna arrive.

[/B][/QUOTE]Heeheeheehee........

They think you're harmless...and all of a sudden the ol' bath robe flies open.....

Heeheeheehee......

Screwed up another thread, didn't we?

Dan_ref Fri Feb 11, 2005 08:24pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: thanks for the replies
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Like you, wandering around the bus station in your bath robe, slippers and party hat, wondering when Teddy Roosevelt's campaign bus is gonna arrive.

[/B]
Heeheeheehee........

They think you're harmless...and all of a sudden the ol' bath robe flies open.....

Heeheeheehee......

Screwed up another thread, didn't we? [/B][/QUOTE]

Yep, right down the old fixture.

:)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1