The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 03, 2005, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Had an association meeting last night. The VP of the association goes over some "you make the call" plays. One play reads like this:

A1 steals the ball from B1 at the division line and drives for an uncontested basket. B2 runs after A1 and violently pushes A1 from behind as he/she is in the act of shooting. The ball: 1. goes in the basket or 2. does not go in the basket. You make the call.

So his answer for situation 2 is what I expect - count basket, 2 shots plus ball at spot of foul.

But his answer for situation 1 was puzzling. He says, and he claimed to have a Case Book play to back it up, was that, if the shooter missed the shot, he'd get 4 shots plus the ball at the spot. 2 shots for the miss, plus 2 shots for the flagrant. I didn't say anything because he said he had a Case Book play, and no one else said anything either, but I was definitely unsure that he was correct.

So today I try and find the situation in the Case Book - I couldn't find it. I did find it in the Simplified and Illustrated book on page 79 (10-6 Pen 4), which says very clearly that the shooter would get 2 shots whether the shot goes in or not.

Way to screw up an interpretation for the whole Association, Mr. VP. Well, there were only about 60 people out of 300+ there, but still.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1