The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 03, 2005, 06:23am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to Gozer Send a message via Yahoo to Gozer
I'm new to fourm so heres a quick background of myself. I'm 21 and a Student at KU, I have Officiated Volleyball for 5 years 3 with the KSHSAA (Kansas State Activities Association) and this is my first year of Basketball.

Anyhow, I was dooing a JV game the other night and the coach made some questionable comments to me, fairly loud, hit and miss on wether it encited the crowd. One was "go back to jr high" and "what are you dooing clapping" ( I was dooing the 'touch' sign for when the contact is on the ball). This coaches team was down some 25 pts most the way through the game, and we had a bunch of incidental contact on the court. I would have considered both of these comments innaporperate as they are questioning, mocking what I am calling. Anyhow, I did not give him his earned T because it would have hurt the players and not the coach, and afterall that is who we are out there for.

Just would like some general feedback on this situation, hasent "rested" with me yet.

Take care,

Kenny
Old Thu Feb 03, 2005, 06:32am
Official Forum Member

Kenny,
Welcome to the forum.
1. When the coach told you to go back to jr. high, you definitely should have T'd him. Your failure to do so only hurts the kids more because it allows them to see that kind of behavior go unpunished. We are there not only for a basketball game, but for life lessons. That is the true reason for amatuer sports competition.