The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Help (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18061-help.html)

goldcoastump Mon Jan 31, 2005 10:50am

This message was sent to me last night, as I am a football and softball official I thought I would ask the experts. Here is a portion of the email>
My team played last night, and it was close
>> throughout. With about a minute and half left in the game, my team was
>> down by 1 point. We successfully tied the ball up, the referees looked
>> at the table and gave the ball to my girls. They referees waited a full
>> 6-7 seconds to allow the girls to set-up, and then gave one of my girls
>> the ball to inbound (under our basket). We in bounded the ball
>> successfully and scored to pull ahead by 1 point with less than a minute
>> in the game. The referees then gave the opposing team the ball to inbound
>> and they drove down past the half-court line when his wife (the
>> scorekeeper) shouted to the referees that they had made a mistake on the
>> jump ball, and they should have given the ball to the there team on the jump ball. The
>> referees stopped the game and had our basket taken off the scoreboard
>> with about 30 seconds left in the game - and gave them the ball. That
>> put us 1 point behind, and that's pretty much how the game ended.

Was this done correct, if not what should have happened?

cmathews Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:04am

it was not handled correctly
 
A jump ball awarded to the wrong team is not correctable. Even if it was correctable, the correctable errors provision of the rules says that in most cases the points scored and time consumed are to be left as is. If all is as the coach told you in his email, the officials booted this one.

They should have just resumed the game from when the "wife" interupted the game, and left everything else as was....

stewcall Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:09am

not proper by Highschool standards as this is not one of the correctable errors. Once the ball is live---- the play and score stands
If this is a Rec game- well then anything might go
Stew in Va

Kelvin green Mon Jan 31, 2005 11:10am

Nope. Incorrect.

This is not a correctable error by rule.

even if there is a correctable error I will quote the NCAA rule here since it was easier to find and paste but it is identical from NFHS..

Points scored, time consumed and additional activity, which may occur before the recognition of the error, shall not be nullified.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by stewcall
not proper by Highschool standards as this is not one of the correctable errors. Once the ball is live---- the play and score stands
If this is a Rec game- well then anything might go
Stew in Va


You are correct only so far as this is not a correctable error, but giving the wrong team the ball for an AP Throw-in can be corrected. But it can only be corrected if it is discovered before the AP Throw-in ends, not when the ball becomes live for the AP Throw-in.

MTD, Sr.

Redhouse Mon Jan 31, 2005 12:58pm

Mark could you please explain what you mean in your last sentence. Maybe I am just missing something. You said that it can only be corrected before the AP throw in ends, but not after it becomes live for the AP throw in.

Am I reading this correct or not?

joseph2493 Mon Jan 31, 2005 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Redhouse
Mark could you please explain what you mean in your last sentence. Maybe I am just missing something. You said that it can only be corrected before the AP throw in ends, but not after it becomes live for the AP throw in.

Am I reading this correct or not?

I think he was following up Stew's statement about after the ball becomes live.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Jan 31, 2005 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by joseph2493
Quote:

Originally posted by Redhouse
Mark could you please explain what you mean in your last sentence. Maybe I am just missing something. You said that it can only be corrected before the AP throw in ends, but not after it becomes live for the AP throw in.

Am I reading this correct or not?

I think he was following up Stew's statement about after the ball becomes live.


Thanks, isn't the English language amazing, just like those Mets.

MTD, Sr.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1