The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt redux (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17893-backcourt-redux.html)

Dan_ref Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Huh?
Don't be snotty.

Now it's my turn to wipe off my screen.

BTW, Syracuse just barely got by Rutgers. See the game?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
et encore:

The ball, in Team A's control in the frontcourt, is whacked to the floor in the frontcourt by B1 and bounces in the air over the backcourt, where A3, baskethanging fool, catches it. Backcourt or no?


et encore:

Same answer as last week, mainly because the case book hasn't changed since then.

No violation. Case book play 9.9.1SitC(b).

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Huh?
Don't be snotty.

Now it's my turn to wipe off my screen.

BTW, Syracuse just barely got by Rutgers. See the game?

Yup. Damn, I was hoping that Rutgers woulda nailed 'em too. Love to see Willie the Whiner lose.

Dan_ref Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Huh?
Don't be snotty.

Now it's my turn to wipe off my screen.

BTW, Syracuse just barely got by Rutgers. See the game?

Yup. Damn, I was hoping that Rutgers woulda nailed 'em too. Love to see Willie the Whiner lose.

Me too, they were up big first half, SU came out strong second half. RU had their chances in the last minute, lots of offensive reounds.

You getting OK state at OU? 19-2, at the 12:40 mark

assignmentmaker Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:32pm

Thanks. I agree.
 
"No violation. Case book play 9.9.1SitC(b)."

I think the rule is written badly and/or the situation is rather singular, using the issue of player location independently of ball location, which is not the case in other, allied rules.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
Me too, they were up big first half, SU came out strong second half. RU had their chances in the last minute, lots of offensive reounds.

You getting OK state at OU? 19-2, at the 12:40 mark [/B][/QUOTE]Yeah, blew an 18 point half-time lead. Lah me. Gonna head down in a minute or so to do some surfing, including OK/OU. I get the NCAA pass as well as getting all the Fox regionals on the dish too. Decisions...decisions :D

Dan_ref Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Me too, they were up big first half, SU came out strong second half. RU had their chances in the last minute, lots of offensive reounds.

You getting OK state at OU? 19-2, at the 12:40 mark [/B]
Yeah, blew an 18 point half-time lead. Lah me. Gonna head down in a minute or so to do some surfing, including OK/OU. I get the NCAA pass as well as getting all the Fox regionals on the dish too. Decisions...decisions :D [/B][/QUOTE]

If you can get CCSU at Monmouth (NEC) check it out, Jackie Loube (IAABO head honcho) is working that game.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
et encore:

The ball, in Team A's control in the frontcourt, is whacked to the floor in the frontcourt by B1 and bounces in the air over the backcourt, where A3, baskethanging fool, catches it. Backcourt or no?


et encore:

Same answer as last week, mainly because the case book hasn't changed since then.

No violation. Case book play 9.9.1SitC(b).

Are you sure? How about this play?

A1 is trapped on the sideline, in the FC. She leaps and attempts to throw the ball off B1. The ball goes off B1 but doesn't go OOB. Instead, it bounces toward the BC. A2 chases the ball, steps into the BC and grabs the ball while it was still in the FC. The ball was never in the BC, until A2 touches it? Violation?

TravelinMan Mon Jan 24, 2005 09:49pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Huh?
Don't be snotty.

Now it's my turn to wipe off my screen.

BTW, Syracuse just barely got by Rutgers. See the game?

Big East - toughest conference in the country to win a game. I've been crying in my beer oover the fortunes of my PC friars. Lost to Villanova in OT without starting PG due to flu, drops a 4 point game to Cuse then has to play Rutgers at their place and loses from foul line (23 points vs 7 points). BC this Wed. It doesn't get any easier.

blindzebra Mon Jan 24, 2005 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
et encore:

The ball, in Team A's control in the frontcourt, is whacked to the floor in the frontcourt by B1 and bounces in the air over the backcourt, where A3, baskethanging fool, catches it. Backcourt or no?


et encore:

Same answer as last week, mainly because the case book hasn't changed since then.

No violation. Case book play 9.9.1SitC(b).

Are you sure? How about this play?

A1 is trapped on the sideline, in the FC. She leaps and attempts to throw the ball off B1. The ball goes off B1 but doesn't go OOB. Instead, it bounces toward the BC. A2 chases the ball, steps into the BC and grabs the ball while it was still in the FC. The ball was never in the BC, until A2 touches it? Violation?

Yes, no loss of team control, so it is the same thing as A2 holding the ball and stepping into the backcourt.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:13pm

Okay.

So how is this different than the original play?

rainmaker Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Okay.

So how is this different than the original play?

It's no different at all. B was the last player to touch the ball while it was in the frontcourt.

I know I'm going to be sorry I posted this, I'm always wrong when I think too much.

BktBallRef Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Okay.

So how is this different than the original play?

It's no different at all. B was the last player to touch the ball while it was in the frontcourt.

Isn't the ball in the FC when A2 touches it?

Smitty Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Okay.

So how is this different than the original play?

It's no different at all. B was the last player to touch the ball while it was in the frontcourt.

Isn't the ball in the FC when A2 tbuches it?

The ball is in the backcourt when A2 touches it. Or tbuches it. Whichever. :) It was in the frontcourt before A2 touched it. But it's still not a violation because B was the last to touch it in the frontcourt.

blindzebra Mon Jan 24, 2005 11:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
et encore:

The ball, in Team A's control in the frontcourt, is whacked to the floor in the frontcourt by B1 and bounces in the air over the backcourt, where A3, baskethanging fool, catches it. Backcourt or no?


et encore:

Same answer as last week, mainly because the case book hasn't changed since then.

No violation. Case book play 9.9.1SitC(b).

That case play has the ball in team A's control going FROM the back court to the FC, touched by B, back to the back court.

This play has the ball in team A's control IN the FC, touched by B, but the ball still has FC status until it touches A2 in the BC, VERY different than the case play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1