The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping Back Board (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17864-slapping-back-board.html)

Man In Blue Sun Jan 23, 2005 08:27pm

A1 drives for lay-up. B1 swings at ball, misses ball and slaps back board. Violation?

Please site rule/case book fed/ NCAA.

BktBallRef Sun Jan 23, 2005 08:31pm

No, it's not a violation. It's a legal play.

Since it's legal, there's no reference to cite.

ref18 Sun Jan 23, 2005 08:32pm

Legal, slapping the backboard is only a T when it is intentional. The player attempted to play the ball therefore did not attempt to intentionally slap the backboard. 10-3-5a

Edit: Check this out it deals with that situation:

http://www.cabocanada.org/interpreta...nterpretations

[Edited by ref18 on Jan 23rd, 2005 at 08:57 PM]

Ref Daddy Sun Jan 23, 2005 09:55pm

CONTACTING THE BACKBOARD
10.3.5 SITUATION: A1 tries for a goal, and (a) B1 jumps and attempts to block the shot but instead slaps or strikes the backboard and the ball goes into the basket; or (b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING: In (a) legal and the basket counts; and (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.
COMMENT: The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the backboard while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-7.

ref18 Sun Jan 23, 2005 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Daddy
(b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING: In (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.

Wouldn't that be BI instead of a T??

Mark Dexter Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref Daddy
(b) B1 vibrates the ring as a result of pulling on the net and the ball does not enter the basket. RULING: In (b) a technical foul is charged to B1 and there is no basket.

Wouldn't that be BI instead of a T??

I'm guessing the key to this is "as a result of" - i.e., that the net is pulled, the ring starts to vibrate, and then the shot touches the vibrating ring (after the player lets go of the net).

If the player touches the net while the ball is actually on or in the basket, then it is basket interference (4-6-1).

ref18 Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:02pm

4-6-4 "Basket interference occurs when a player pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its origional position"

Nevadaref Mon Jan 24, 2005 05:55am

In that case play, the player who pulled on the ring didn't make the movable ring break down from its original position, he only made it vibrate. Hence, no BI, but it is a T.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1