The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 17, 2005, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Re: Definitions

Quote:
Originally posted by williebfree
What would you recommend if the ball had rolled out of bounds? According to your logic the ball should be awarded to Team B, because Team A was the last to have team control.
Team control has nothing to do with an OOB situation.

Quote:
You may want to review Rule 4-12 Control, Player and Team (Page 30, NFHS) and section 15 Dribble(Page 31, NFHS).
Good idea ...

A team is in control when .... yep, we have that.

Team contro continues until .... nope, none of that happened, so A is still in control.

Quote:
Based on what you have stated, I believe most officials will rule this is a "loose ball." Therefore, the AP arrow should be used to determine who is awarded the possession.
There's no such thing as a "loose ball" in FED. We did have an "accidental whistle" as in 7.5.4 AAward the ball to the team in control -- that's still A.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1