The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Fouled at End (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17661-fouled-end.html)

footlocker Sun Jan 16, 2005 03:01am

Ok, this is like the Airborne Shooter post.

But, different. I'll clarify.

Player A goes up for a shot at the end of a period. Player A gets fouled with 0.1 seconds on the clock, then the clock goes to 0.0 and the horn sounds as Player A then releases the ball as time expires. The try goes in.

Instinct tells me to wave off the bucket but award two shots for the foul. Is that correct?

If anyone saw the Indiana-Purdue game today, this is what it looked liked at eh end of the first overtime. Help me here with the rule for NFHS, also commentary on the college rule would be good.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Jan 16, 2005 05:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
Ok, this is like the Airborne Shooter post.

But, different. I'll clarify.

Player A goes up for a shot at the end of a period. Player A gets fouled with 0.1 seconds on the clock, then the clock goes to 0.0 and the horn sounds as Player A then releases the ball as time expires. The try goes in.

Instinct tells me to wave off the bucket but award two shots for the foul. Is that correct?

If anyone saw the Indiana-Purdue game today, this is what it looked liked at eh end of the first overtime. Help me here with the rule for NFHS, also commentary on the college rule would be good.



If the shooter releases the ball before the buzzer, count the basket and shoot one free throw. If the shooter releases the ball at or after the buzzer, do not count the basket and shoot two free throws.

tjones1 Sun Jan 16, 2005 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
Ok, this is like the Airborne Shooter post.

But, different. I'll clarify.

Player A goes up for a shot at the end of a period. Player A gets fouled with 0.1 seconds on the clock, then the clock goes to 0.0 and the horn sounds as Player A then releases the ball as time expires. The try goes in.

Instinct tells me to wave off the bucket but award two shots for the foul. Is that correct?

If anyone saw the Indiana-Purdue game today, this is what it looked liked at eh end of the first overtime. Help me here with the rule for NFHS, also commentary on the college rule would be good.



If the shooter releases the ball before the buzzer, count the basket and shoot one free throw. If the shooter releases the ball at or after the buzzer, do not count the basket and shoot two free throws.

....with the lane cleared

ref18 Sun Jan 16, 2005 01:32pm

Today at my games, my partner and I were discussing this one, after it happened in the NCAA game, and although I said that the basket shouldn't have counted, he said that continuous motion applies. Well anyways, long story short, in the NCAA game, does the basket count, or did the offcials kick this one??

blindzebra Sun Jan 16, 2005 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Today at my games, my partner and I were discussing this one, after it happened in the NCAA game, and although I said that the basket shouldn't have counted, he said that continuous motion applies. Well anyways, long story short, in the NCAA game, does the basket count, or did the offcials kick this one??
NCAA does not have lag time, so if the whistle occurs before the horn time is put back on the clock AND the horn has no baring on the try.

NF: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = no basket and 2 or 3 free throws.

NCAA: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = good shot and 1 FT.

ref18 Sun Jan 16, 2005 01:58pm

Now, I didn't see the game, but did the officials put time back on the clock??

I also take it that precision timing wasn't used in this game, correct??

footlocker Sun Jan 16, 2005 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Today at my games, my partner and I were discussing this one, after it happened in the NCAA game, and although I said that the basket shouldn't have counted, he said that continuous motion applies. Well anyways, long story short, in the NCAA game, does the basket count, or did the offcials kick this one??
NCAA does not have lag time, so if the whistle occurs before the horn time is put back on the clock AND the horn has no baring on the try.

NF: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = no basket and 2 or 3 free throws.

NCAA: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = good shot and 1 FT.

ok. Now this stopped making sense for me. Your NF: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = no basket and 2 or 3 free throws.

Why wouldn't the whistle stop the clock here. If I have knowledge in a HS game that this was the order, wouldn't I have the responsibility to put something back on the clock since I know the whistle came before time expired? Thereby having the effect of counting the shot.

btw, no time was put on the clock in the indiana/purdue game.

tjones1 Sun Jan 16, 2005 03:21pm

Lag time. If the fouled occured with 1 second left, then by rule the horn can and probably would sound.

BktBallRef Sun Jan 16, 2005 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
If I have knowledge in a HS game that this was the order, wouldn't I have the responsibility to put something back on the clock since I know the whistle came before time expired?
No. The NFHS allows the timer 1 second of lag time to stop the clock. Since the timer did not fail to properly start the clock, you cannot put time back on the clock. (5.10.1B Comment)

blindzebra Sun Jan 16, 2005 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by ref18
Today at my games, my partner and I were discussing this one, after it happened in the NCAA game, and although I said that the basket shouldn't have counted, he said that continuous motion applies. Well anyways, long story short, in the NCAA game, does the basket count, or did the offcials kick this one??
NCAA does not have lag time, so if the whistle occurs before the horn time is put back on the clock AND the horn has no baring on the try.

NF: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = no basket and 2 or 3 free throws.

NCAA: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = good shot and 1 FT.

ok. Now this stopped making sense for me. Your NF: Foul, whistle, horn, release, made basket = no basket and 2 or 3 free throws.

Why wouldn't the whistle stop the clock here. If I have knowledge in a HS game that this was the order, wouldn't I have the responsibility to put something back on the clock since I know the whistle came before time expired? Thereby having the effect of counting the shot.

btw, no time was put on the clock in the indiana/purdue game.

No unless more than a second came off between whistle and horn and the official had definite knowledge, in this case that would mean seeing the clock go from plus one second to zero after the whistle.

NF has lag time, so whistle and horn happening very close together is NOT a timer's error.

footlocker Sun Jan 16, 2005 04:56pm

thanks all.

bob jenkins Sun Jan 16, 2005 05:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
NCAA does not have lag time, so if the whistle occurs before the horn time is put back on the clock AND the horn has no baring on the try.

You might want to check out the latest memo on the NCAA site about this -- the "lag" associated with the time it takes to sound the whistle, and the lag it then takes for the timer to stop the clock are both allowed to happen.

That said, I think that the officials got the call wrong. See NCAA 6-6.2 "...provided that time does not expire before the ball is in flight."




Adam Sun Jan 16, 2005 08:38pm

Watched most of the game (had to leave after the 1st OT) and thought the officials missed this one by giving him the bucket. The announcers were having a fit about the foul, though, assuming they didn't call it right away and insinuating that they made the call after they looked at the replay. They focused on the L and the fact that he did not signal a foul.
Watching the replay, though, it was clear and obvious that the C came in strong with a foul call immediately.
I don't quite understand why they gave him the basket if they didn't put time back on the clock. I can see giving him the bucket if they put .1 back on the clock; meaning the foul caused the clock to stop (or should have) at .1 second, so the horn should not have sounded.
I think they erred on one or the other.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1