The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   blew call do i correct with ap? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17517-blew-call-do-i-correct-ap.html)

roadking Mon Jan 10, 2005 05:01pm

ball is touched last inbounds by player a, player b goes oob while ball is still in the air and attempts to save ball but she has one foot oob. i inadvertently award ball to b team. nobody complains but i know its a bad call, how should i handle and whats the proper mechanic for correcting this?

Adam Mon Jan 10, 2005 05:12pm

If you catch it before the ball is inbounded, you can correct it. If you don't catch it before then, it's too late. You gotta live with it.

roadking Mon Jan 10, 2005 05:20pm

does it have to be corrected by ap? are can i just say correction team a ball?

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2005 05:27pm

No. You just whistle and signal the correct direction. It has nothing to do with the arrow. Give the ball to the correct team.

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Jan 10, 2005 06:58pm

Talking works great
 
My mistake. My mistake.

You stepped on the line before you touched the ball. Team A ball.

You're probably going to catch crap but only until you hand the ball in... so hurry up.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 10, 2005 08:52pm

Re: Talking works great
 
Quote:

Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
My mistake. My mistake.

You stepped on the line before you touched the ball. Team A ball.

You're probably going to catch crap but only until you hand the ball in... <font color = red>so hurry up</font>.

Excellent advice right there. Get it going right away and the coach will return to doing his job(coaching) usually and quit his kvetching. If you're standing there, the coach is usually gonna just keep on yapping about it. Tough to yap, too, if you're at the other end of the court.

dblref Tue Jan 11, 2005 07:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
does it have to be corrected by ap? are can i just say correction team a ball?
I had a similar "mistake" situation last Friday (throw-in vs oob). Visiting team inbounding in front court about half-way down the side line. Ball was "tapped" by visiting team into the b/c where they retrieved the ball. I was T and like a dumba**, I called a b/c violation. Turned and started up court and immediately realized what I had done. My partner also realized it right away and she started towards me, I'm sure to tell me about it. I just told both coaches that I had a "brain cramp" and we gave the ball back to visitors.

David M Tue Jan 11, 2005 09:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
If you catch it before the ball is inbounded, you can correct it. If you don't catch it before then, it's too late. You gotta live with it.

Can it be corrected before the ball is inbounded or before you hand the ball the thrower in?

tjones1 Tue Jan 11, 2005 09:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by David M
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
If you catch it before the ball is inbounded, you can correct it. If you don't catch it before then, it's too late. You gotta live with it.

Can it be corrected before the ball is inbounded or before you hand the ball the thrower in?

The first one might draw a little heat from the coach/crowd because it looks like you are not even sure since you made the ball live, but if you knew it and just handed the ball to a player quickly, blow it immediately.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1