The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw-In? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17513-throw.html)

Grail Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:06pm

A1 inbounding on the sideline, passes the ball to A2. The pass never passes through the imaginary plane of the sideline. A2 reaches over the OOB area to catch the pass. Is this legal?

FrankHtown Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:14pm

It's a violation, 9-2-3.

thumpferee Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Grail
A1 inbounding on the sideline, passes the ball to A2. The pass never passes through the imaginary plane of the sideline. A2 reaches over the OOB area to catch the pass. Is this legal?
Throw-in violation.

Rule 9-2-3

golfdesigner Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:17pm

Nope, here is quote from the book--

<b>Rule 7</b>
SECTION 6 THROW-IN ADMINISTRATION
ART. 1 . . . The throw-in starts when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in. The thrower shall release the ball on a pass directly into the court, except as in 7-5-7, within five seconds after the throw-in starts. The throw-in pass shall touch another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched. <b>The throw-in pass shall not touch a teammate while it is on the out-of-bounds side of the throw-in boundary plane.</b>

Grail Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:21pm

Thank You All

blindzebra Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:34pm

Violation in theory, but in practice it had better be REALLY obvious.;)

Also remember that means reaching across the sideline on a throw in on the side or the endline on the endline, but not across the sideline on a throw in from the endline, or vise versa.

Robmoz Tue Jan 11, 2005 04:15pm

Beware of the "hand-off" where A2 reaches over the plane to get the ball from A1.

Adam Tue Jan 11, 2005 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
Beware of the "hand-off" where A2 reaches over the plane to get the ball from A1.
True, but what about when A1 reaches over the plane to hand it to A2?

blindzebra Tue Jan 11, 2005 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Robmoz
Beware of the "hand-off" where A2 reaches over the plane to get the ball from A1.
True, but what about when A1 reaches over the plane to hand it to A2?

That is still a violation because A1 is required to release the pass.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1