The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling or Not? You make the call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17509-traveling-not-you-make-call.html)

johnSandlin Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:22pm

Loose ball on the floor. Team A player gets control of the ball on the floor and in the process ends up laying on the floor with the ball starring straight up at the ceiling.

Player from Team A does a half roll to the right, and then a half roll to the left to pass the ball, so he can get up off the floor.

In the process of player's half rolls, has he committed a traveling violation? I say no because the player with the ball did not make an attempt to get up from the floor.

What do you think?

Damian Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:44pm

Depends on the defense
 
I player on his back may sit up, roll to one side or the other to pass to another team player. However, if he rolls to avoid the defense, it is traveling.

johnSandlin Mon Jan 10, 2005 02:50pm

Thanks for the help Damian. What you mentioned is exactly what is leaning towards with my thinking as well.

ChiliBob Mon Jan 10, 2005 03:24pm

If you ever get a chance, there is a very good video that came out about 8-9 years ago from the Federation (I believe) that covers the traveling violation. A bit underproduced and hoaky but the content is good.

ChuckElias Mon Jan 10, 2005 03:33pm

Re: Depends on the defense
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
I player on his back may sit up, roll to one side or the other to pass to another team player.
Got a rule or case play for that interp, Damian?

BktBallRef Mon Jan 10, 2005 03:46pm

Re: Depends on the defense
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
I player on his back may...roll to one side or the other to pass to another team player.
Traveling.

4.43.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without violating?
RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.


Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:29pm

Re: Re: Depends on the defense
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Damian
I player on his back may sit up, roll to one side or the other to pass to another team player.
Got a rule or case play for that interp, Damian?

Got a rule or a case play that says that he can't, Chuck? The player isn't rolling <b>over</b>, is he?

blindzebra Mon Jan 10, 2005 04:37pm

Cheek to cheek, nothing. Cheeks to hip or belly, is a travel.

ChuckElias Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:25am

Re: Re: Re: Depends on the defense
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Got a rule or case play for that interp, Damian?
Got a rule or a case play that says that he can't, Chuck? [/B][/QUOTE]
I'm just asking, b/c that's not the normal interp.

Back In The Saddle Tue Jan 11, 2005 01:03pm

Once he lifts his pivot cheek, mustn't he pass or shoot before returning it to the floor? :D

Adam Tue Jan 11, 2005 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Once he lifts his pivot cheek, mustn't he pass or shoot before returning it to the floor? :D
As long as he just passes the ball, I'm okay with it. :)

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Once he lifts his pivot cheek, mustn't he pass or shoot before returning it to the floor?
As long as he just passes the ball, I'm okay with it.

Oooooooo.......

That's painful!

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:10pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: Depends on the defense
 
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Got a rule or case play for that interp, Damian?
Got a rule or a case play that says that he can't, Chuck?

I'm just asking, b/c that's not the normal interp. [/B][/QUOTE]Are you saying that it's a violation, Chuck?

BktBallRef Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:32pm

If he rolls from his butt to his side, I've got traveling.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 12, 2005 08:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
If he rolls from his butt to his side, I've got traveling.
If he rolls from his butt <b>onto</b> his side, I've got travelling. If he rolls from his butt <b>to</b> or <b>towards</b> his side, I don't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1