The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another game ending sitch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17428-another-game-ending-sitch.html)

Blackhawk357 Thu Jan 06, 2005 05:16pm

Rather than diluting the other thread, I thought I'd start another discussion.

Boy’s varsity game
Three whistle
End of overtime ~ 104-98

Home team with the lead, playing keep-away, throws the ball to the right corner as time expires. In a fluid motion, A1 moves toward the basket. As he leaves his feet for a lay-up, B1 with a shoulder, takes him into the padded wall behind the basket and they both slide to the floor in a pile.

I'm R and C, table side (opposite the right corner). This was a very intense game late in the season (last year) with play-off implications. Crowd control was in place, thankfully, and very much needed.

Here's what we did:
My Lead (along with crowd control) got the 2 players involved to their respective benches, we made sure that there was no danger from the crowd and held the teams on the floor. Quick officials’ conference to get on the same page, and get the numbers right. While my U's were each watching benches, I reported a flagrant "T" on B1 to the table, informed the B coach of the consequences, and left the floor with an escort. Then came the paperwork ;)

The only thing I wondered was if we should have called the lay-up after the horn taunting. It seemed pretty harmless at the time, but obviously upset B1.

Idea?

Blackhawk

Jurassic Referee Thu Jan 06, 2005 05:28pm

Doesn't matter if it's after the horn. You can't walk away from those. Good call. Good job.

nine01c Thu Jan 06, 2005 06:28pm

I think he is asking if the fact that A1 went forward and attempted a lay-up after the time expired should be considered taunting. In general I would think not (like player taking a shot after the horn) unless he did or said something you think was taunting or baiting which incited B1 to attack.

Adam Thu Jan 06, 2005 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
I think he is asking if the fact that A1 went forward and attempted a lay-up after the time expired should be considered taunting. In general I would think not (like player taking a shot after the horn) unless he did or said something you think was taunting or baiting which incited B1 to attack.
Agreed. A1 cannot be expected to know that shooting a layup just after the horn would set B1 off like that.

Adam

JRutledge Thu Jan 06, 2005 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by nine01c
I think he is asking if the fact that A1 went forward and attempted a lay-up after the time expired should be considered taunting. In general I would think not (like player taking a shot after the horn) unless he did or said something you think was taunting or baiting which incited B1 to attack.
If that is what he is asking, then my answer would have to be a strong NO! Player play until they know for sure the game is over. Do not go looking for boogers. I think the flagrant foul was a good call BTW.

Peace

Nevadaref Fri Jan 07, 2005 06:18am

I wouldn't a have problem with an unsporting T on the player attempting to score after the horn. He is already up six and it is classless. If you really felt that this was taunting and caused B1 to retaliate, you would be justified.

Of course, the flagrant T on B1 is needed.

Lastly, both players could well be charged with fighting and receive flagrant T, due to 4-18-2.
I'm not saying that A1 should, but you could certainly support it with the rules.


Adam Fri Jan 07, 2005 09:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
I wouldn't a have problem with an unsporting T on the player attempting to score after the horn. He is already up six and it is classless. If you really felt that this was taunting and caused B1 to retaliate, you would be justified.

Of course, the flagrant T on B1 is needed.

Lastly, both players could well be charged with fighting and receive flagrant T, due to 4-18-2.
I'm not saying that A1 should, but you could certainly support it with the rules.


Wow. Honestly, from the play I'm picturing in my head, I would not want to have that conversation with my assignor afterwards.

Me:
"Yeah, Terry. I threw H34 out because he took a layup right after the horn and I think he should have known it would incite V35 to knock him senseless."

Terry:
"Adam, you need some time off?"

Jurassic Referee Fri Jan 07, 2005 09:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
I wouldn't a have problem with an unsporting T on the player attempting to score after the horn. He is already up six and it is classless. If you really felt that this was taunting and caused B1 to retaliate, you would be justified.

Of course, the flagrant T on B1 is needed.

Lastly, both players could well be charged with fighting and receive flagrant T, due to 4-18-2.
I'm not saying that A1 should, but you could certainly support it with the rules.


Wow. Honestly, from the play I'm picturing in my head, I would not want to have that conversation with my assignor afterwards.

Me:
"Yeah, Terry. I threw H34 out because he took a layup right after the horn and I think he should have known it would incite V35 to knock him senseless."

Terry:
"Adam, you need some time off?"

Rule 4-18-2- <b>FIGHTING</b>- "Fighting includes but is not limited to combative acts such as an attempt to instigate a fight by committing an unsporting act towards an opponent that causes an opponent to retaliate by fighting".

Try to adapt that to this sitch and you're <b>gonna</b> hear:
Terry: "Adam, you <b>got</b> some time off!" :D:

Blackhawk357 Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:42am

No way was I going to give A1 a flagrant T. I wondered about a T for taunting (for about half a second), but couldn't see what good it would do, with the 6 pt spread we weren't going to shoot free-throws anyway.

BTW, I was supported completely by both my local and state associations. I was required to write B1 up for the flagrant T, and the state enforced the 1 game suspension. My main argument was that if we passed on that one, it would be "open season" after the buzzer from that point on.

Blackhawk

rockyroad Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Blackhawk357
No way was I going to give A1 a flagrant T. I wondered about a T for taunting (for about half a second), but couldn't see what good it would do, with the 6 pt spread we weren't going to shoot free-throws anyway.

BTW, I was supported completely by both my local and state associations. I was required to write B1 up for the flagrant T, and the state enforced the 1 game suspension. My main argument was that if we passed on that one, it would be "open season" after the buzzer from that point on.

Blackhawk

Nice to hear that everyone supported you - that doesn't always happen in those situations! Maybe that Blackhawk username had something to do with it, huh??? :)

Robmoz Fri Jan 07, 2005 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
I wouldn't a have problem with an unsporting T on the player attempting to score after the horn. He is already up six and it is classless. If you really felt that this was taunting and caused B1 to retaliate, you would be justified.

Of course, the flagrant T on B1 is needed.

Lastly, both players could well be charged with fighting and receive flagrant T, due to 4-18-2.
I'm not saying that A1 should, but you could certainly support it with the rules.
WOW!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1