The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   proper mechanic (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1738-proper-mechanic.html)

Dave Birch Tue Feb 13, 2001 05:36pm

Had this in a boys varsity game, I am the trail, A1 has the ball on the base line, he shoots and is fouled. My partner blows his whistle for the foul, the ball bounces off the rim and is still in the cylinder when B2 commits basket interference. This is what I did, but it felt weird, I blew my whistle held up my open hand, signled BI and came down with that same hand to count the basket. Is this the proper mechanic to use? It didn't feel right. After I did that I let my partner know to count the hoop when reporting the foul. What signal would you have used??

Dave B

Mark Padgett Tue Feb 13, 2001 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dave Birch
Had this in a boys varsity game, I am the trail, A1 has the ball on the base line, he shoots and is fouled. My partner blows his whistle for the foul, the ball bounces off the rim and is still in the cylinder when B2 commits basket interference. This is what I did, but it felt weird, I blew my whistle held up my open hand, signled BI and came down with that same hand to count the basket. Is this the proper mechanic to use? It didn't feel right. After I did that I let my partner know to count the hoop when reporting the foul. What signal would you have used??

Dave B

According to the official NF signal number 23, you use the same signal for any made or awarded goal, just the same as you do to indicate a ball went in on a shooting foul.

BTW - If A1 has the ball "on" the base line, the play is dead since this is OOB :)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 13, 2001 11:09pm

This is a case when you do not immediately signal two or three points. You were correct in sounding your whistle for the possible defensive BI, but you need to let your partner now that you had a possible defensive BI. The foul by B1 against A1 may have been a common foul and not a foul against by B1 against A1 who is in the act of shooting. If A1 was in the act of shooting your partner that score the points for BI. If the foul was a common foul the ball was dead immediately and the touching of the ball by B2 is not a violation of the rules.

Brian Watson Wed Feb 14, 2001 08:18am

Or the foul could have been on A.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 14, 2001 10:19am

Brian: You are absolutely correct.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1