The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Why the difference (NCAA edition)? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/17230-why-difference-ncaa-edition.html)

ChuckElias Sun Dec 26, 2004 11:26am

When double personal fouls are committed, the ball is put back in play by awarding it to the team in control at the time of the foul.

When double technical fouls are committed, the ball is put back in play at the POI.

Why the difference?

BktBallRef Sun Dec 26, 2004 11:42am

How is that different? Isn't it the same, just worded differently?

ChuckElias Sun Dec 26, 2004 03:28pm

Play #1: A1 releases the ball on a try. While the try is in flight, the official assesses a double personal foul against A2 and B2. The try is successful. RULING: Since there was no team control at the time of the fouls, possessesion of the ball is awarded according to the AP arrow. If the arrow favors Team B, the inbounder may run the endline.

Play #2: A1 releases the ball on a try. While the try is in flight, the official assesses a double technical foul against A2 and B2. The try is successful. RULING: Team B will receive a throw-in anywhere along the endline, since if the play had not been interrupted, Team B would inbound after the made basket.

ChuckElias Sun Dec 26, 2004 03:34pm

Those plays aren't ARs, by the way. They are test questions from a couple years ago. The rulings haven't changed as far as I know.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 26, 2004 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Play #2: A1 releases the ball on a try. While the try is in flight, the official assesses a double technical foul against A2 and B2. The try is successful. RULING: Team B will receive a throw-in anywhere along the endline, since if the play had not been interrupted, Team B would inbound after the made basket.
What happens in Play #2 if the shot is no good?

ChuckElias Sun Dec 26, 2004 06:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Play #2: A1 releases the ball on a try. While the try is in flight, the official assesses a double technical foul against A2 and B2. The try is successful. RULING: Team B will receive a throw-in anywhere along the endline, since if the play had not been interrupted, Team B would inbound after the made basket.
What happens in Play #2 if the shot is no good?

Arrow.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 26, 2004 06:41pm

So the only time it wouldn't go to AP is if there's a basket and double T's while the ball is in flight? Strange. It makes common sense but it doesn't make "rule" sense.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1