![]() |
This almost happened this weekend, so I thought it was worth a post here. Youth 10-11YO league, using NFHS rules.
Close to end of half, 2nd of two foul shots missed. Defense rebounds, and since only 1-2 seconds left, rebounder sling-lobs ball towards his end of court. Ball out of his hands, buzzer sounds, ball lands at about the foul line, and then bounces up close to the goal. What would have been the call if the ball had gone through the basket? |
No basket. The try ends when the ball hits the floor.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And the answer is no, as ECR said, b/c the try ends when it's clear that it will be unsuccessful. If the ball then bounces back up toward the goal, it's no longer a try. So since the horn has already sounded, the ball is dead. |
However unless I'm incorrect, which has happened a time or two, 2pts should be awarded if the ball goes through prior to the horn sounding. I was working a game once and the home team was showboating with a big lead pulled up on a 1 on 0 break away and acted like he was going to shoot a 3 and bounced it of the floor and in. Easy 2pts in my book. Fellow official trys to assess a "violation" in his words and give the visitors the ball and no points. Meanwhile the home coach instead of hanking that kid out of the game for his poor show of sportsmanship starts whinning very loudly about how it should be a 3. I calmly showed him what one hand placed horizontally on top of the other placed vertically looked like.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
To quote mick, when it comes to blowouts - get in, get out, get done. There's no need to T this if it can be avoided. In addition, I'd have a really hard time giving a T on a legal scoring play. What's next - T'ing alley-oops because the defensive players might get upset? |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm. |