The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 13, 2001, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
It looks like the NCAA rules (which we use for NY high schools) are a little different here:


Section 4. Throw-in

Art. 1. The thrower-in shall not:

b. Fail to pass the ball directly into the playing court so that after it
crosses the boundary line, it touches or is touched by another
player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the playing court before
going out of bounds. A throw-in that lodges between the backboard
and the ring or comes to rest on the flange shall be a violation.

Art. 3. The opponents of the thrower-in shall not have any part of their person
beyond the vertical inside plane of any boundary line before the ball
has crossed that boundary line.


(I've deleted all the parts that don't seem to apply to this case.) From this, I conclude that if either A (based on 9.4.1b) or B (based on 9.4.3) touches the ball before it crosses the boundary line into the court, it's a violation.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1