The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   another over and back question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16920-another-over-back-question.html)

yankeesfan Fri Dec 10, 2004 01:05am

A1 is dribbling in the backcourt and throws the ball to A2 who is stradling the mid court line. A2 moves her foot that was in the front court to the back court, which touches the ground, and then dribbles over mid court. is this an over and back violation? i had a no call on this play because i feel she used the foot in the backcourt as her pivot foot. the coach went crazy and wanted a violation called. i think i got it right. please let me know.

[Edited by yankeesfan on Dec 10th, 2004 at 01:15 AM]

zebraman Fri Dec 10, 2004 01:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
A1 is dribbling in the backcourt and throws the ball to A2 who is stradling the mid court line. A2 moves her foot that was in the front court to the back court, which touches the ground, and then dribbles over mid court. is this an over and back violation? i had a no call on this play because i feel she used the foot in the backcourt as her pivot foot. the coach went crazy and wanted a violation called. i think i got it right. please let me know.

[Edited by yankeesfan on Dec 10th, 2004 at 01:15 AM]

You got it right. When A2 was straddling the line, A2 was still in backcourt. A2 then lifted the foot that was in front court so A2 remained in backcourt.

No violation.

Z

Back In The Saddle Fri Dec 10, 2004 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by yankeesfan
A1 is dribbling in the backcourt and throws the ball to A2 who is stradling the mid court line. A2 moves her foot that was in the front court to the back court, which touches the ground, and then dribbles over mid court. is this an over and back violation? i had a no call on this play because i feel she used the foot in the backcourt as her pivot foot. the coach went crazy and wanted a violation called. i think i got it right. please let me know.

[Edited by yankeesfan on Dec 10th, 2004 at 01:15 AM]

I don't have the rule citation on this, but when a player is touching two parts of the court at the same time, their status is well defined.

Frontcourt & backcourt = backcourt
In bounds & out of bounds = out of bounds
In the key & out of the key = in the key
2 point territory & 3 point = 2 point


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1