The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   running the end line (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16901-running-end-line.html)

rockyroad Thu Dec 09, 2004 03:32pm

Saturday afternoon at PLU...but it's not them, it's a tournament and I can't remember who's playing...it should be fun tho - haven't worked with Scott, but have seen him at camps! We'll have a good time...he'll keep me out of trouble, right??

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 09, 2004 03:35pm

Case book play 7.5.7SitB(c)
 
Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the made basket, then proceeds out of bounds to start the throw-in process. B1 runs along the end line out of bounds while attempting to find an open teammate for the throw-in. Immediately after B1 releases the throw-in pass, the ball is deflected out of bounds across the end line by A2.
RULING: A2 legally contacted the ball and subsequently hit it out of bounds, <b>ending the throw-in</b>. Team B is awarded a <b>designated spot throw-in</b> on the end line.

How could any interpreter in the world screw this one up? This interpretation tells you quite plainly and clearly that a throw-in ends with touching.

Lah me!

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 9th, 2004 at 03:40 PM]

Mark Padgett Thu Dec 09, 2004 03:41pm

This determination seems simple to me. If the throw-in ends with an act that in itself is a violation (kicking or punching the ball, for example), they retain the right to run the baseline. If the throw-in ends with an act that, in itself, is NOT a violation (deflecting the ball, for example), then there is a spot throw-in if the deflection causes the ball to go OOB, since the deflection itself is not a violation - the ball going OOB is - and this happens after the throw-in ends.

canuckrefguy Thu Dec 09, 2004 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
This determination seems simple to me. If the throw-in ends with an act that in itself is a violation (kicking or punching the ball, for example), they retain the right to run the baseline. If the throw-in ends with an act that, in itself, is NOT a violation (deflecting the ball, for example), then there is a spot throw-in if the deflection causes the ball to go OOB, since the deflection itself is not a violation - the ball going OOB is - and this happens after the throw-in ends.
Great interpretation, Mark, and a lesson on not over-analyzing things.

Don't make things complicated when they don't need to be...

BktBallRef Thu Dec 09, 2004 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
This determination seems simple to me. If the throw-in ends with an act that in itself is a violation (kicking or punching the ball, for example), they retain the right to run the baseline. If the throw-in ends with an act that, in itself, is NOT a violation (deflecting the ball, for example), then there is a spot throw-in if the deflection causes the ball to go OOB, since the deflection itself is not a violation - the ball going OOB is - and this happens after the throw-in ends.
Exactly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1