The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   My first "real" T (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16891-my-first-real-t.html)

gostars Wed Dec 08, 2004 06:05pm

Gave out my first "discretionary" T last night. A1 stepped on the sideline. I blew my whistle, pointed to the line and then the other way. She spiked the ball and it about hit the ceiling.

This in not my first Tech. I have worked eight games (this is my first year) and already given out 5. I know that sounds like a lot but the rest couldn't be helped. One was for reaching out of bounds and slapping the ball on a throw-in. The 2nd and 3rd were flagrants for fighting and the 5th was for an excessive time out.

tjones1 Wed Dec 08, 2004 06:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gostars
Gave out my first "discretionary" T last night. A1 stepped on the sideline. I blew my whistle, pointed to the line and then the other way. She spiked the ball and it about hit the ceiling.

This in not my first Tech. I have worked eight games (this is my first year) and already given out 5. I know that sounds like a lot but the rest couldn't be helped. One was for reaching out of bounds and slapping the ball on a throw-in. The 2nd and 3rd were flagrants for fighting and the 5th was for an excessive time out.

Spiking the ball every time! I actually have a thing that if they slam the ball down and it doesn't go above their head and catch it I let it go. Your other T's, you've got to do what you've got to do! Actually a lot of new officials are afraid to do it because they are afraid it won't be just. FIGHTING?? Dang, I haven't even seen this yet, not that I want to. Anyways, sounds like you are doing a good job.

thumpferee Wed Dec 08, 2004 07:25pm

Quote:

One was for reaching out of bounds and slapping the ball on a throw-in.
[/B]
Warning first before the T?

Smitty Wed Dec 08, 2004 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee