The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Pre-game dunking? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16890-pre-game-dunking.html)

MWI Wed Dec 08, 2004 05:33pm

If A1 & A2 both are witnessed dunking during pregame warmup do you shoot 2 for each T? Or is it like changing starters?


bob jenkins Wed Dec 08, 2004 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MWI
If A1 & A2 both are witnessed dunking during pregame warmup do you shoot 2 for each T? Or is it like changing starters?


Shoot for both.

Junker Wed Dec 08, 2004 05:38pm

Did this actually happen? I would think after the first T, A2 would get the message. Without looking at the books, I think you have to call both and shoot for both, otherwise what (other than ability) is stopping the entire team from dunking?

OldCoachNewRef Wed Dec 08, 2004 05:45pm

Good thing
 
It's a good thing it wasn't 3 pregame dunks. The coach would be in the locker room (3 indirects)for the entire game!

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 08, 2004 06:11pm

Re: Good thing
 
Quote:

Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
It's a good thing it wasn't 3 pregame dunks. The coach would be in the locker room (3 indirects)for the entire game!
Um, there might be other opinions floating around this board about your definition of "a good thing".

Do you wanna hear Mark Padgett's? :D

QuebecRef87 Wed Dec 08, 2004 08:17pm

Shouldn't we start by warning the coach before charging one or more technical fouls for dunks? I mean, it's only warm-up after all!

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 08, 2004 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Wise Weasel
Shouldn't we start by warning the coach before charging one or more technical fouls for dunks? I mean, it's only warm-up after all!
Please tell me you're kidding.

IREFU2 Thu Dec 09, 2004 08:17am

Technical Fouls and we start the game off shooting. I had this happen my second game this year. Dont for get the coach gets an indirect and he looses his box and has to sit!

Nu1 Thu Dec 09, 2004 08:29am

What's the procedure for "calling" this technical? After you see the first dunk, do you walk to the table and inform the official scorer and the coach of the technical? Do you wait until the game is about to start before you tell the table and coach? Do you actually use any signals and blow the whistle????

IREFU2 Thu Dec 09, 2004 08:38am

I didnt blow my whistle, I just got the number and told my partner (he was the "r") and he informed the coach. Of course the play denied it, but the whole gym saw it and reacted.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 09, 2004 08:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by Nu1
What's the procedure for "calling" this technical? After you see the first dunk, do you walk to the table and inform the official scorer and the coach of the technical? Do you wait until the game is about to start before you tell the table and coach? Do you actually use any signals and blow the whistle????
No signals, no whistle.

Tell your partner, then tell the coach as soon as you can ("Hello coach. Bob Jenkins. NIce to meet you / see you again, and I wish I had better news. Number xx dunked during the warmups, so we'll ahve to start the game with a technical."), then the other coach and the table.

If there's an announcer tell him / her, too.


Nu1 Thu Dec 09, 2004 09:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Nu1
What's the procedure for "calling" this technical? After you see the first dunk, do you walk to the table and inform the official scorer and the coach of the technical? Do you wait until the game is about to start before you tell the table and coach? Do you actually use any signals and blow the whistle????
No signals, no whistle.

Tell your partner, then tell the coach as soon as you can ("Hello coach. Bob Jenkins. NIce to meet you / see you again, and I wish I had better news. Number xx dunked during the warmups, so we'll ahve to start the game with a technical."), then the other coach and the table.

If there's an announcer tell him / her, too.


Okay. Thanks.
I've never seen it go this far, but I'd imagine, if you have an athletic team with players who are not aware of the rule, it is possible that you could have A1, A2, and A3 dunk consecutively while you're telling your partner and one of you is making your way to the table and coach. Not likely maybe, but possible :) Not good for the coach.

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 09, 2004 09:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Nu1
What's the procedure for "calling" this technical? After you see the first dunk, do you walk to the table and inform the official scorer and the coach of the technical? Do you wait until the game is about to start before you tell the table and coach? Do you actually use any signals and blow the whistle????
No signals, no whistle.

Tell your partner, then tell the coach as soon as you can ("Hello coach. Bob Jenkins. NIce to meet you / see you again, and I wish I had better news. Number xx dunked during the warmups, so we'll ahve to start the game with a technical."), then the other coach and the table.

If there's an announcer tell him / her, too.


The ballplayer that dunked should be notified too, by rule, immediately when the dunk occurs. If I remember right, the FED recommended telling the ballpayer before the coach. The idea was to get to the player before he dunked again and earned another T.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 9th, 2004 at 09:37 AM]

Nevadaref Tue Dec 14, 2004 03:22am

Yes, JR.
10.3.4 Sit C includes the following:
"When dunking occurs during the pregame practice period the official notifies the team member and the head coach, but does not sound the whistle."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1