The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16789-backcourt.html)

ronny mulkey Sat Dec 04, 2004 03:31pm

Sideline throw-in near mid-court. Throw-in is to an airborn A1 who has front court status who taps the ball into the backcourt. Ball is retrieved by A2.

Backcourt? Is this play on TH's quiz?

mick Sat Dec 04, 2004 03:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ronny mulkey
Sideline throw-in near mid-court. Throw-in is to an airborn A1 who has front court status who taps the ball into the backcourt. Ball is retrieved by A2.

Backcourt? Is this play on TH's quiz?

Mulk,
The tap does not constitute player control (holding, dribbling).
No player control.
No team control.
No violation. :)
mick

ronny mulkey Sat Dec 04, 2004 03:41pm

Mick,

Would it matter if the play were worded so that A1 was going to be in trouble (potential trap) if he caught the ball near the intersection of the division line and sideline. knowing this he taps the ball to A2 in the backcourt. I guess the real question is would you consider that tap as "being in player control"?

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 04, 2004 04:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ronny mulkey
Mick,

I guess the real question is would you consider that tap as "being in player control"?

Nope, a "tap" isn't considered to be possession. It's an attempt to contact the ball in order to direct or re-direct it's path. R4-40-5 gives you the basic premise.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1