The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Titke IX supreme court case (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16696-titke-ix-supreme-court-case.html)

Dan_ref Tue Nov 30, 2004 03:36pm

http://www.usatoday.com/news/washing...s-equity_x.htm

Stat-Man Tue Nov 30, 2004 04:08pm

IANAL*, but it seems to me that this sounds more like a whistleblower case than a gender equity case.

(And here I thought maybe our season lawsuit was accepted by the supreme court.) ;)

<font size="-2" face="Tahoma">
* I am not a lawyer
</font>

Dan_ref Tue Nov 30, 2004 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Stat-Man
IANAL*, but it seems to me that this sounds more like a whistleblower case than a gender equity case.

(And here I thought maybe our season lawsuit was accepted by the supreme court.) ;)

<font size="-2" face="Tahoma">
* I am not a lawyer
</font>

Whatever.

I considered it a public service to post a link that does not incite the Ron Artest fans to idiocy.

Stat-Man Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:10am

Dan_Ref

I wasn't criticizing you or the link you posted by any stretch. Perhaps I should elaborate on my impressions after reading that article.

I feel that while the coach was bringing up what he thought was Title IX issues, his lawsuit seems to be more about being fired for being a whistleblower.

I am also curious what, if anything, was done about the original complaint: girls practicing in conditions that the coach felt were below those the boys practiced in. (Maybe that will be the subject of the next lawsuit).