The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another newbie question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16633-another-newbie-question.html)

Weaver Thu Nov 25, 2004 04:29pm

The official fails to award A3 the merited one and one. Team A inbounds the ball and subsequently requests and is granted a time-out. The error is then discovered. Shall A3 be awarded the one and one and shall play resume as after any normal free throw activity?

cingram Thu Nov 25, 2004 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
The official fails to award A3 the merited one and one. Team A inbounds the ball and subsequently requests and is granted a time-out. The error is then discovered. Shall A3 be awarded the one and one and shall play resume as after any normal free throw activity?
Yes. See Rule 2 Section 10.

A3 will shoot the one and one with rebounders in the lanes. Play will resume as after any normal free throw activity.

If there had been a change of possession: i.e. Team A inbounds, Team B steals it, Error recognized. A3 would shoot with no rebounders in the lane. After the shot(s) have been taken Team B would inbounds at the spot where the game was interrupted. Even if team A steals it back - Shots are taken with the lane empty and a throw in will resume play.

Weaver Thu Nov 25, 2004 08:10pm

Thank you! I just have another question about team control....LAST ONE ok say A5 attempts a jump shot. Does team control continue until A5 has returned with one foot to the floor?

Mark Padgett Thu Nov 25, 2004 08:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
Thank you! I just have another question about team control....LAST ONE ok say A5 attempts a jump shot. Does team control continue until A5 has returned with one foot to the floor?
No. Team control ends on the try.

dhodges007 Fri Nov 26, 2004 02:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
Thank you! I just have another question about team control....LAST ONE ok say A5 attempts a jump shot. Does team control continue until A5 has returned with one foot to the floor?
No. Team control ends on the try.

Weaver, assuming you are talking about NCAA. There isn't a team control foul in HS.

JohnBark Sat Nov 27, 2004 09:52am

yup
 
yup

Nevadaref Sat Nov 27, 2004 10:10am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
Thank you! I just have another question about team control....LAST ONE ok say A5 attempts a jump shot. Does team control continue until A5 has returned with one foot to the floor?
No. Team control ends on the try.

and more specifically, when it is released

Weaver Sun Nov 28, 2004 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dhodges007
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
Thank you! I just have another question about team control....LAST ONE ok say A5 attempts a jump shot. Does team control continue until A5 has returned with one foot to the floor?
No. Team control ends on the try.

Weaver, assuming you are talking about NCAA. There isn't a team control foul in HS.

Oh, even Canadian high school?

QuebecRef87 Tue Nov 30, 2004 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
Quote:

Originally posted by dhodges007
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Weaver
Thank you! I just have another question about team control....LAST ONE ok say A5 attempts a jump shot. Does team control continue until A5 has returned with one foot to the floor?
No. Team control ends on the try.

Weaver, assuming you are talking about NCAA. There isn't a team control foul in HS.

Oh, even Canadian high school?

It depends on which rules your league is using (i.e.: FIBA, NCAA, NFHS...)

Jay R Tue Nov 30, 2004 03:19pm

Weaver,
I noticed in your profile that you live in BC. High Schools in BC use NCAA Men`s Rules with a few modifications. So when you have questions on this forum, just refer to NCAA rules and you should be OK.

A fellow Canadian,
Jay

rainmaker Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Weaver,
I noticed in your profile that you live in BC. High Schools in BC use NCAA Men`s Rules with a few modifications. So when you have questions on this forum, just refer to NCAA rules and you should be OK.

A fellow Canadian,
Jay

Jay, and Weaver, refer to NCAA-M rules. Get that M in there. NCAA women's rules are different in a few key points, and so you need to specify which you are referring to.

ChuckElias Wed Dec 01, 2004 08:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Jay, and Weaver, refer to NCAA-M rules. Get that M in there.
Or just add a disclaimer at the bottom of your posts, like the one below. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1