The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two or Three? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1662-two-three.html)

Suppref Tue Feb 06, 2001 11:44am

A1 outside the 3 point arc, throws an "alley-oop" pass to A2. A2 never touches it, but it goes in the hoop. Not exactly a try but it was released from behind the arc. In an effort not to draw attention to oneself, do you just give the "touchdown" signal or count it as a duece.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 06, 2001 11:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by Suppref
A1 outside the 3 point arc, throws an "alley-oop" pass to A2. A2 never touches it, but it goes in the hoop. Not exactly a try but it was released from behind the arc. In an effort not to draw attention to oneself, do you just give the "touchdown" signal or count it as a duece.
Is this a "rules" question, or a "refereeing" question?

By rule, this counts as two-points in FED. See NFHS 2000-2001 Interpretations, Situation 11.

In practice, I'd have to be sure it wasn't a try before I'd only award two points (but, that said, if I was sure it wasn't a try that's all I'd award).

In NCAA, it's three-points either way (by interpretation).

Brian Watson Tue Feb 06, 2001 11:51am

NCAA - Good no matter what.

Fed - It is based on your opionion as to if it was a try or not.

Personally, I flush it as a three. That is an argument I don't want to have with a coach, basically because I don't know what his player was trying to do.

Suppref Tue Feb 06, 2001 01:04pm

Practical officiating
 
The question was a practical officiating question, although I appreciate all interpetations. It doesn't happen too much in HS games. Thanks.

Hawks Coach Tue Feb 06, 2001 06:22pm

Anybody see Omar Cook's 3 last night - it was an attempted alley oop, just like this case, clearly thrown and not shot, and (being NCAA) it counted as 3. This would have been the ideal one to discuss as potential 2, but of course it is hard to say whether there was intent. I think NF ought to use NCAA interpretation to end the question.

hoopsrefBC Tue Feb 06, 2001 07:26pm

Under NCAA rules this would be counted as a 3
Under NHFS rules this would be counted as a 2
Under FIBA rules this would be counted as a 2
Under CIAU mens rules this would be counted as a 3
Under CIAU womens rules this would be counted as a 2
keep smiling
SH



[Edited by hoopsrefBC on Feb 7th, 2001 at 01:36 PM]

Rookie Wed Feb 07, 2001 01:46pm

Unless you want to tell a coach you know what the player was thinking, it is 3.

ilya Wed Feb 07, 2001 07:05pm

speaking about NCAA, Lamar Cook (St. John's) has done exactly that 2 days ago! made it to number 2 on SportCenter's top 10 plays of the day :)

number 26 Thu Feb 08, 2001 12:37pm

interesting topic. hard to believe game winning or game tying 3 at the buzzer from 3/4 of a court away would be called a 2 because a ref said it was a pass to a player under the basket and not a shot. this is a high school rule that begs to be changed immediately. thanks.

RookieDude Thu Feb 08, 2001 04:49pm

5 points!
 
I had it happen the other night! A1 lobs the ball toward the basket, B1 and B2 fouled A1 in the "act of lobbing" as A1 was behind the 3 point line.
Of course the ball went in the hoop!
My partner, Dave, called a multiple foul on B1 and B2. A1 calmly goes to the line and sinks both free throws!! 5 POINT PLAY!

DanIvey Thu Feb 08, 2001 04:57pm

Re: 5 points!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
I had it happen the other night! A1 lobs the ball toward the basket, B1 and B2 fouled A1 in the "act of lobbing" as A1 was behind the 3 point line.
Of course the ball went in the hoop!
My partner, Dave, called a multiple foul on B1 and B2. A1 calmly goes to the line and sinks both free throws!! 5 POINT PLAY!

I saw that play the other night! RookieDude forgot to mention the score was A 60 - B 65 and the lob was at the buzzer. The ball had left A1's hands before the time had expired and with no time left on the clock the ball went in.

Man did Coach B want Dave to just call that a "pass" and not a "try"!! Coach B didn't even care that Team A was in the Double Bonus...he said Team A couldn't win so don't let them shoot!! Whew!!!

Mark Dexter Thu Feb 08, 2001 05:53pm

Am I seeing things??
 
Quote:

Originally posted by RookieDude
I had it happen the other night! A1 lobs the ball toward the basket, B1 and B2 fouled A1 in the "act of lobbing" as A1 was behind the 3 point line.
Of course the ball went in the hoop!
My partner, Dave, called a multiple foul on B1 and B2. A1 calmly goes to the line and sinks both free throws!! 5 POINT PLAY!

Multiple foul!!!?!?!????!!?

These exist? I thought they were a legend like ghosts, vampires, and coaches who read their rulebook.

ilya Thu Feb 08, 2001 08:20pm

>and coaches who read their rulebook.

:D lol

BktBallRef Thu Feb 08, 2001 09:56pm

If my hand goes up when that ball is released, it's a 3!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1