The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal screen scenario (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16512-illegal-screen-scenario.html)

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 19, 2004 09:02am

Re: Re: Re: Add this to the scenario
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie


And to further up the ante, if you do call an intentional personal foul on B1 along with a block on A2, what's the administration if both teams are in the bonus?

B1 will shoot bonus for the illegal screen,lanes cleared, A2 will shoot intentional foul, lanes cleared, Team A out of bounds at nearest spot of foul


If neither team is in the bonus?
B1 no shots, A2 shoots 2 for intentional foul out of bounds as spot nearest foul

Same questions but with a flagrant personal foul on B1 instead?

B1 sub, gets bonus free throws if in bonus if not, they get nothing, A2 still shoots but flagrant technical is brought in at mid court opposite the table


<font color = red>If you called a double foul, alternate possesion at spot!</font>[/B][/QUOTE]Probably should have been clearer. Let me re-phrase it.

Question is administration when you have a double personal foul when (1) one foul is intentional and both teams are in bonus, or both teams not in bonus (2) same scenario but with a flagrant personal foul being one of the double fouls instead.

jritchie Fri Nov 19, 2004 09:40am

i guess you would still call it a double foul, but because intentional has a different penalty...2 shots and ball..wouldn't be like an ordinary double foul, so would B1 still shoot?? since it's a double foul i'm thinking yes, but i have been wrong before,

good question?

whatever the ruling is it would still be same for flagrant, except you would have an ejection?

Help!!!

cford Fri Nov 19, 2004 09:51am

Re: Re: Re: Add this to the scenario
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie


B1 sub, gets bonus free throws if in bonus if not, they get nothing, A2 still shoots but flagrant technical is brought in at mid court opposite the table


I believe that a flagrant personal foul is still inbounded at the point of incident. Correct?

bob jenkins Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
A1 being guarded by B1. A2 comes to set a screen on B1. Screen is illegal as A2 doesn't stop before contact. At the point of contact, B1 either pushes A2 to the side or blasts through the illegal screen by A2.

Call illegal screen on A2 and ignore B1's actions?

Call pushing foul on B1 and ignore A2's illegal screen?

Call a double foul?

Other options?

Z

As I read this, A's actions caused the contact. Single foul on A2, unless B1's actions are intentional or flagrnat (not likely).


jritchie Fri Nov 19, 2004 10:51am

that is really the question.... if you feel it's intentional, do you call a double foul??? or a illegal screen on A2 and then intentional on B1?? what would be the administration penalties for free throws?? bonus or not?

Jurassic Referee Fri Nov 19, 2004 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
i guess you would still call it a double foul, but because intentional has a different penalty...2 shots and ball..wouldn't be like an ordinary double foul, so would B1 still shoot?? since it's a double foul i'm thinking yes, but i have been wrong before,

good question?

whatever the ruling is it would still be same for flagrant, except you would have an ejection?

Help!!!

A handy little reference is always at the end of Rule 10- "Summary of Penalties for All Fouls". It can save you a whole bunch of digging through the rules sometimes.

Re:#1(c)-NOTE in this summary- <i>"If one or both fouls of a double personal foul are flagrant, no free throws are awarded. Any player who commits a flagrant foul is disqualified".</i>

zebraman Fri Nov 19, 2004 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
A1 being guarded by B1. A2 comes to set a screen on B1. Screen is illegal as A2 doesn't stop before contact. At the point of contact, B1 either pushes A2 to the side or blasts through the illegal screen by A2.

Call illegal screen on A2 and ignore B1's actions?

Call pushing foul on B1 and ignore A2's illegal screen?

Call a double foul?

Other options?

Z

As I read this, A's actions caused the contact. Single foul on A2, unless B1's actions are intentional or flagrnat (not likely).


That's how I called it at the time Bob, but in retrospect I really did a lot of second-guessing. Yeah, A2 was coming to set an illegal screen and didn't stop short of contact. But at the same time that A2 arrived, B1 was pushing A2 to the side. By only calling the illegal screen, I ignored the illegal action by B1 (which did not fit my definition of intentional or flagrant). Not that it matters, but as you can imagine, the A coach saw the push by B and wanted that. I couldn't even say, "the bad screen happened first coach" because that wasn't true. It's an interesting one to me.

Z

bob jenkins Fri Nov 19, 2004 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Not that it matters, but as you can imagine, the A coach saw the push by B and wanted that. I couldn't even say, "the bad screen happened first coach" because that wasn't true. It's an interesting one to me.

Z

"If your player had been legal, that's what I would have called."



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1