The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Screener Holds Elbows Out (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16459-screener-holds-elbows-out.html)

carldog Mon Nov 15, 2004 07:36pm

Can a screener hold his fists together under his chin, and elbows outward, as he sets a screen?

Can a screener hold his fists together at his sternum, and elbows outward, as he sets a screen?

Thanks!




smoref Mon Nov 15, 2004 07:44pm

If his elbow extend any further than shoulder width apart and he makes contact with the defender then it is an illegal screen.

Samething if legs a spread apart to far

rainmaker Mon Nov 15, 2004 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by smoref
If his elbow extend any further than shoulder width apart and he makes contact with the defender then it is an illegal screen.

Samething if legs a spread apart to far

Anything is legal until there's contact. elbows out, illegal, if contact. samething if legs spread apart too far. But, wait... how far is too far? Shoulder width? Wider?

zebraman Mon Nov 15, 2004 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by carldog
Can a screener hold his fists together under his chin, and elbows outward, as he sets a screen?

Can a screener hold his fists together at his sternum, and elbows outward, as he sets a screen?

Thanks!




It depends. If the screener impedes the progress of the defender with those outstretched arms, you could have a foul on the screener. However, even if the screener has the elbows out, the contact might be on the torso and not involve those elbows at all. In that case, you might have a charging foul on the offense. Read up on guarding and screening in the rule book and case book. It's not that simple.

Z

PLAYERCONTROL34 Mon Nov 15, 2004 10:51pm

when setting a screen arms must be close to body

zebraman Tue Nov 16, 2004 12:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by PLAYERCONTROL34
when setting a screen arms must be close to body
You are oversimplifying screening. There is much more to it than that. If A1 sets a screen with his arms out, it isn't automatically a foul on A1. If there is contact, the foul might be on B1 depending on the nature of the contact and who initiated it. A1's arms may cause a foul if they inhibit the movement of B1. Read the rule book on contact, screening and hands and arms, legal and illegal use.

10-6
4-39
4-24

Z


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1