The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member

Hi all. I'm new to basketball officiating and will just be doing some youth ball for now, but I was hoping someone could refer me to a guide for beginners. Mostly I'm concerned with positioning more than rules. I know the rules fairly well but it's the intricacies of officiating that will be knew to me.

Having played all my life, it's funny I never noticed where the officials stood before and things like that.

Any help is appreciated.
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ULSaint
Mostly I'm concerned with positioning more than rules.
Welcome to the forum, Saint, and good luck with your upcoming season. The best resource for you in terms of learning positioning is probably the FED Officials' Manual. It describes and diagrams positioning for all kinds of situations. You can order it from the NFHS web site. Another good resource would be some fellow refs, if you are in a local association. Find a guy who has a few years under his belt and just ask him to go through some positioning with you.

Quote:
Having played all my life, it's funny I never noticed where the officials stood before and things like that.
Having played all your life, it'll funny to realize how little you really know about the rules, too.

Good luck!!
Old Thu Nov 11, 2004, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member

Thumbs up

Welcome to the fire.....

My best advice is to contact your state high school association and try to find out what are the approved officials associations.

Then contact and join an association, read the rules book, officials manual, and case studies to the point of knowledge saturation.

Go purchase some "professional gear".

Read the rules book, officials manual and case studies AGAIN