The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   1 Player Remaining (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16399-1-player-remaining.html)

cford Thu Nov 11, 2004 03:19pm

By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game.

If there is only one player left, how does he/she properly inbound the ball?

coachz_216 Thu Nov 11, 2004 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cford
By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game.

If there is only one player left, how does he/she properly inbound the ball?

See "Lane Space Violation" from yesterday--it talks about that situation quite a bit.

Sounds like fun!!!

Jurassic Referee Thu Nov 11, 2004 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cford
By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game.

If there is only one player left, how does he/she properly inbound the ball?

Same as always. Just goes OOB and makes a throw-in. If the ball touches a defender on the court, it's a legal throw-in and play continues. If it doesn't touch anyone before it goes OOB, it's a violation. Clock either runs or doesn't run during the throw-in, depending on what happened before it.

cford Thu Nov 11, 2004 03:33pm

Thanks, I just looked at the past post.

Snake~eyes Thu Nov 11, 2004 05:34pm

I have a question, what if the thrower just dropped the ball inbounds and none of the defenders touch it.

RookieDude Thu Nov 11, 2004 05:42pm

I would think the opponents would want to touch it...since they are behind.

If the opponents are hoping for a forfeit or something of that nature...they will probably get one, and not in their favor, as one could rule a travesty of the game.

blindzebra Thu Nov 11, 2004 05:54pm

Another ugly thing that could happen, is the lone A player's best bet is to play dodgeball with B's players.

If you think about it B would position their players as far away from A as possible, to make the bounce off impossible, so A's only chance is to keep hitting B players who most likely will be trying to not get hit.

Bad blood could really rise in that situation.

reffn54 Thu Nov 11, 2004 06:16pm

game over

blindzebra Thu Nov 11, 2004 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by [email protected]
game over
No, not by rule.

ChuckElias Thu Nov 11, 2004 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by [email protected]
game over
Why? :confused:

Ref in PA Fri Nov 12, 2004 08:10am

Throw in strategies
 
Think about what could be done by A1, the only player left on the team, in a throw-in situation.

Dodgeball is always an option - throwing the ball in so that it touches any player on B and then A1 can legally touch the ball again.

If clock is running, A1 only has to release the ball before 5 seconds is up and then wait for someone on B to touch the ball first. Team B would want to do this in this situation because the clock is still running - so dodgeball becomes a real factor.

If clock is not running, A1 could release the ball, tossing the ball down court and following the ball as it bounces down court. As the ball nears the opposite endline, A1 could touch the ball on court, causing the violation. Would that not be a spot violation at that point? Team B would have to travel the entire court to score now, taking more time off the clock.

cford Fri Nov 12, 2004 08:17am

This is a throw in violation, so it would go back to where the ball was originally thrown in.

Good try though :)

rwest Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:30pm

No, its a spot throw in.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by cford
This is a throw in violation, so it would go back to where the ball was originally thrown in.

Good try though :)

This came up in one of associations meetings. You penalize it where the violation occurred. The violation was where the player touched the ball. Spot throw-in. If the throw in was not touched by any player before going out of bounds at the opposite endline, then you bring it back to the spot where the ball was inbounded.


zebraman Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:40pm

Re: No, its a spot throw in.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rwest
This came up in one of associations meetings. You penalize it where the violation occurred. The violation was where the player touched the ball. Spot throw-in. If the throw in was not touched by any player before going out of bounds at the opposite endline, then you bring it back to the spot where the ball was inbounded.


rwest,

Generally that is true. This is an exception though as I was educated on in an earlier post:

Check out Case Book, page 64. 9.2.2 Situation B(a)

The throw-in by A1 is: (a) first touched in the court by A1;
RULING: Violation in (a); B's ball at the spot of the throw-in.

Z

reffn54 Fri Nov 12, 2004 07:53pm

why worry about it, in 33 years i have never had less then 3 players on one team. the coach would probably quit playing, what if that one player was injured and could not continue.

ChuckElias Fri Nov 12, 2004 07:58pm

Nobody's "worrying", but it's in the book for a reason, so we might as well know what to do if it happens.

And I doubt the coach would throw in the towel if he was up by 12 with 40 seconds left, even with only player available.

Camron Rust Sat Nov 13, 2004 02:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by [email protected]
why worry about it, in 33 years i have never had less then 3 players on one team. the coach would probably quit playing, what if that one player was injured and could not continue.
I've had it happen (got down to two and one of them had 4 fouls) and have heard of it happening to others.

Tim Roden Sun Nov 14, 2004 10:35pm

As a player that is throwing in the ball. Throw it to the last line of defense and hope he uses a lot of time bringing it back and play super defense. Hopefully you have less than a minute left in the game and a twenty point lead.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 15, 2004 02:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by rwest
Quote:

Originally posted by cford
This is a throw in violation, so it would go back to where the ball was originally thrown in.

Good try though :)

This came up in one of associations meetings. You penalize it where the violation occurred. The violation was where the player touched the ball. Spot throw-in. If the throw in was not touched by any player before going out of bounds at the opposite endline, then you bring it back to the spot where the ball was inbounded.


This exact play is covered in this year's interps. See nfhs.org

2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 7: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. B1 attempts an entry pass that goes near the division line, but no opponent or teammate is nearby to secure the ball. B1 enters the court and becomes the first player to touch the ball. RULING: B1 has committed a throw-in violation. Team A will be awarded a throw-in at a designated spot on the end line, which was the original throw-in location. (9-2-6 Penalty)


totalnewbie Mon Nov 15, 2004 02:58am

Its also on the Fed test. #80.

Q: "The throw-in is at the division line when A1, who is inbounding the ball under B's basket, is the first to touch the ball near the division line."

I put "False" because it is a throw in violation and thus B gets the ball at the original throw in spot.

I hope I'm right :)

Clark

Nevadaref Mon Nov 15, 2004 03:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by totalnewbie
Its also on the Fed test. #80.

Q: "The throw-in is at the division line when A1, who is inbounding the ball under B's basket, is the first to touch the ball near the division line."

I put "False" because it is a throw in violation and thus B gets the ball at the original throw in spot.

I hope I'm right :)

Clark

According to the answer key, #80 is False.

totalnewbie Mon Nov 15, 2004 04:30am

I got suckered into the "division line throw in" red herring when I first read through the question. So my gut said "it's a division line throw in, so the answer must be true." One good thing about being a newbie is that I know I dont know anything. So I read the rule.

R9-2-6 "The thrower shall not...touch the ball in the court before it touches or is touched by another player."

Which is what happens in the question. It just so happens that the violation occurs near the division line. But by rule that is irrelevant:

Per R9-6 the penalty is "the ball becomes dead when the violation occurs" and the ball is "awareded to the opponent for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot," which, in the question, is under B's basket not the division line.

This test has actually been fun. (yeah, I know, I'm sick) :)

Clark


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1