![]() |
Jumper A1 taps the ball to start extra period. While ball is in flight, B2 fouls A2. Team A is in Double bonus. Official instructs the scorer to set possession arrow to Team B when ball is placed at A2 disposals for the SECOND free throw. True or False?
The confusion is the SECOND free throw. Would'nt you set it on the disposal of the first free throw? |
Jeff, you taking the NCAA test?
|
Quote:
|
The arrow would be set when the ball was at the disposal of the free thrower for his first free throw. 4.3.2
|
Quote:
Thanks for the reference! |
We had this happen at the end of a game last year. I'll pose it in question form.
We have an arrow throw-in. On the throw-in A-1 rolls the ball toward A-2, well the ball is rolling to A-2, B-3 fouls A-3. Team A is in the one and one. A-3 misses the first free throw attempt and on the rebounding action we've got a held ball. Whose ball is it? |
The AP throw-in had not ended yet even though the ball was rolling on the floor. So team A did still have the arrow.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Chuck: I know that you want a NCAA rules reference for the initial setting of the AP Arrow, but if my memory is correct, the NCAA Rules Book does not have it spelled out like it is in the NFHS Rules Book (see Rule 4), except for an A.R. in Rule 6. But I do know that the NFHS R4-S3 applies to the NCAA. MTD, Sr. |
Yes Chuck...I am!
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40pm. |