![]() |
Team A has 7 or 8 players foul out, and with about 20 seconds to go in the game have only one player, A1, left on the floor. Team A is leading by 7 points at this time, so they certainly still have a chance to win the game. A1 fouls B1, and B1 now goes to the line for a one and bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, but naturally team A can't fill the other first spot. B1 misses his first free throw.
What's the call? |
Quote:
|
Nice one.
By rule both spots must be filled. But with only one player how can I enforce that rule? Actually, there should be no shot until both are filled... therefore, I think you've already made your decision of NO VIOLATION. So play on. Good Luck A1 - get the rebound and stall.
I wouldn't want to be the official on the floor with my arm out for the free-throw violation and letting some slacker shoot until he makes two. Then give the ball to A1 to attempt a throw-in as all of Team B backs away to the division line and plays dodge-ball.... and no time clicks off the clock. Ooohh let's do this some more. It's a good thing you are the Ref, JR, so you can make these tough, beyond the rule book, decisions. :D |
Quote:
|
must of been a rough one!!! :)
i believe it would be a violation and they would shoot until they made both free throws... But not for sure...just going by what the rules say... would hate to have a game like that!!
|
Quote:
What's your's? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Say "We've got two, guys..." and wish A good luck! |
Quote:
...I don't know, but like I said, It'd be fun to watch! |
Quote:
BTW - I would play on, but not allow B1 to get in the lower lane space opposite A1. |
Quote:
That should eat up the 20 seconds with A winning. Now if coach B is smart and has timeouts, he's using them after the made baskets. If coach A is smart, A1 is right under the basket and is grabbing the ball right out of the net, giving B less time to call the TO. [Edited by blindzebra on Nov 9th, 2004 at 04:16 PM] |
What is likely to happen is B will try to miss the second free throw, to the side away from A1, so you could have the double violation of A not occupying both lane spaces and a violation on the shooter for being early or not hitting the rim, giving you an alternate possession throw in.:D
|
Anybody ever actually see this? I remember a game way, way back in HS when food poisoning hit our team at a tournament (Christmas time, I think) and we only had 5 guys healthy enough to play. Three fouled out and we played the last 2 min. or so with me and one other kid on the court - and he had 4 fouls...we still won by 4 or 5 points...never seen a game go down to just one player left...
I'd go with the no violation and play on after any misses... A's gotta throw it in somehow after a make... |
My thought is that if the rules allow a team to play with only one player, then you can't penalize that team for playing with only one player.
No violation. But as someone said, keep B2 out of the other low space. |
All right, I'm missing something here. 2005 NFHS rule book: 8-4-b: The first marked lane spaces shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower.
In this situation, all opponents of the free thrower are occupying a first marked lane space. Why would this be a violation? Does anyone believe that the spirit of the rules would allow the team to continue with one player, then penalize the one player for not being two players? By the way, we had a game two years ago where all the players for a team fouled out. The last player fouled out on an offensive foul with 1:10 or so left and his team up by 8. He just had to score another basket. I guess he never heard of the one corner delay offense. No, I didn't ref that game. And the coach didn't even complain about unequal calls. They were all pretty obvious. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
What's your's? [/B][/QUOTE] I don't have one! That's why I'm stalling... [/B][/QUOTE]Not good enough, Woman! What's your answer? Gonna wrap this one up soon. |
Re: must of been a rough one!!! :)
Quote:
The FED issued this interpretation last year also, but it never made the case book. If you never read it on their web site, oh well...... http://www.nfhs.org/scriptcontent/va...Category_ID=29 Again, click on the above, look up "Rules Interpretations Release Date: 11/7/03" near the bottom of the left-hand column and click on it.... and read Situation 2. |
Quote:
In the FT scenario, it's not possible for Team A comply with the rules of the FT. It's simply not possible for one player to fill both spaces. In the throw-in scenario, however, it's quite possible for Team A to complete the throw-in without committing the violation you describe. All A1 has to do is throw the ball off a defender. In the first case, since it's impossible to comply with the rule, it would be wrong to penalize the violation. In the second case, since it is possible to comply with all the throw-in rules, it is reasonable to penalize any violation. |
Quote:
I don't have one! That's why I'm stalling... [/QUOTE]Not good enough, Woman! What's your answer? Gonna wrap this one up soon. [/QUOTE] Quote:
|
JR,
Is there some reason that you are going back to last year's interps and posting these questions now? Are you just miffed that some of these plays did not make the 04-05 Case Book? I'm just curious about your motivation. PS 9.11.4 IS in this year's Case Book. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am. |