The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   In bounds status question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16349-bounds-status-question.html)

RickyD Mon Nov 08, 2004 09:18pm

If a player jumps
from OOB to inbounds, when does he have inbounds status:
When first foot touches down in bounds?
When both feet have touched down inbounds?

Does NFHS ruling differ from NCAA on this subject?

blindzebra Mon Nov 08, 2004 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RickyD
If a player jumps
from OOB to inbounds, when does he have inbounds status:
When first foot touches down in bounds?
When both feet have touched down inbounds?

Does NFHS ruling differ from NCAA on this subject?

One foot.

ChuckElias Mon Nov 08, 2004 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally posted by RickyD
Does NFHS ruling differ from NCAA on this subject?
Nope.

Nevadaref Tue Nov 09, 2004 02:32am

To put it another way, the player is consider inbounds once he has touched inbounds and is no longer touching out of bounds. Therefore, one foot down inbounds and the other still in the air is enough for inbounds status.

carldog Tue Nov 09, 2004 06:04am

And in a related question that has been discussed here or on another board ( I can't seem to find the thread....I'm getting older...) but not brought to a definitive conclusion....

A1 steals a pass, and before his momentum carries him out of bounds he saves the ball back onto the court. Can he be the first to possess the ball again once he has established in-bounds status?

I have always thought this was legal....but I thought I read something about NCAA changing this.

Thanks!

jritchie Tue Nov 09, 2004 10:01am

if he goes out on his own volition(sp) i don't think he can be the first to come in and touch it... but i think this play, where he is diving to save a ball and slides out of bounds, i'm pretty sure that as long as he establishes in bounds status he can be the first to get the ball!!! Seems like you would be penalizing good hustle, but that wouldn't be the first time the rules did that...

Junker Tue Nov 09, 2004 10:21am

A player can save a ball and then come back in bounds and take possession of the ball as long as he or she is legally within the playing court. I don't have my books here to back that answer up though.

ChrisSportsFan Tue Nov 09, 2004 12:08pm

i watch for something in and nothing out.
yes, in this situation, he can come back in and get it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1