The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member

I need to get a new pair of shoes. I have been officiating basketball games for 6 years, and I now work primarily a high school varsity schedule. My question primarily relates to patent leather shoes. I want to look my best, but patent leather shoes to me look unnecessarily "showy" and I have not seen many officials in our area wearing them. If these are the shoes that top officials are wearing, however, I want to follow that lead regardless of my personal preference.

Do any of you have advice for me? Follow my own preferences? Wear what others in my area are wearing? Take the lead/plunge and wear what the best officials wear?

In advance, thanks for your thoughts.
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member

As long as the shoes are clean / shined, no one has been hired or not hired based on the kind of shoes s/he wears.

Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 12:46pm
Huck Finn

You will get a mixed reaction to your question. I don't know any guys that I can think of that are "top level" that wear patent leather. It is personal preference and I wouldn't wear them. Someone else might say they are great and they feel great. Since everyone's feet and opinions are different you will get different answers. Wear what works for you and God bless the person(s) that got us away from wearing Runnin Refs!
Old Fri Nov 05, 2004, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member

I've worn patent leather shoes for 3 years now in Wisconsin. However, be sure your partners do too! Otherwise, you will stand out among your colleagues. Folks will notice....but many of the players are wearing patent leather shoes as well.