![]() |
Offensive player takes a shot and misses. On the rebound, his teammate intentionally bats the ball backcourt where the original shooter gets possession of the ball. Is this a backcourt violation?
|
So the question really is....
IS A TAP/BAT CONSIDERED TEAM CONTROL???? If so, then yes it would be backcourt violation! |
Batting/tapping the ball does NOT establish team control. Only holding or dibbling the ball inbounds does.
This is not a BC violation. [Edited by BktBallRef on Nov 4th, 2004 at 01:05 PM] |
Tony knows his b/c stuff. Whenever he speaks on the subject, listen to him.
Here are the rules which back what he wrote: 4-12-5 ... Team control does not exist during a jump ball or the touching of a rebound, but is re-established when a player secures control. 4-15-4 Note 2: A player is not dribbling while slapping the ball during a jump, when a pass rebounds from his/her hand, when he/she fumbles, or when he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am. |