The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rookie Test Question #2 - 1 and 1 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/16254-rookie-test-question-2-1-1-a.html)

mbloise Tue Nov 02, 2004 05:36pm

Question:

A-1 is erroneously awarded a 1-1. A-1 makes the first and misses the second, which is rebounded by B-1 who passes to B-2 who scores. The error is now recognized before the ball is at disposal of team A. Official cancels, the free throw, counts B-2's basket and resumes play from the point of interruption. Is the official correct?

Answer: ???

I said yes, however the thing that I question is the counting of B-2's basket.

Thanks,
Mike


BktBallRef Tue Nov 02, 2004 06:30pm

Yes.

Lotto Tue Nov 02, 2004 08:08pm

Count the bucket. All activity between when a correctible error occurs and when it is discovered stands.

Nevadaref Wed Nov 03, 2004 05:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Count the bucket. All activity between when a correctible error occurs and when it is discovered stands.
Well not ALL activity stands, but you are mostly correct. For example a common foul committed during an unmerited free throw would be nullified. Rules 2-10-4 and 2-10-5 cover this, Mike.

Rickref Wed Nov 03, 2004 01:36pm

2-10-4 covers unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls. A common foul would not be nullified.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 03, 2004 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rickref
2-10-4 covers unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls. A common foul would not be nullified.
That's incorrect, Rick. From 2-10-4 "...Activity ... OTHER THAN unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls shal be canceled."

Thus, common fouls (being other than the above) are cancelled.


Rickref Wed Nov 03, 2004 02:39pm

I see. Count those but don't count those. Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1