The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Strange but True... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15960-strange-but-true.html)

Rock'nRef Mon Oct 18, 2004 09:50am

This happened this past Saturday during an early morning Jr. High girls tournament game (fairly low skill level):

A1 is on line for a 1 & 1 (I'm administering ball from endline). A1's shot misses and rebounds directly back to her. Most of the other players take a half step to retrieve rebound and then...buzzer sounds (by mistake) for a sub to enter.... everyone FREEZES!! I'm standing on the end-line not saying a word as the sub is mistakenly waved onto the court by my partner. At the same time the shooter throws the ball back to me and I let it go out of bounds. I blow it dead and B's ball heading the other way. After some discussion with my partner we agree to give the ball to B without any complaints from either side. After further thought, I thought that maybe we should have gone to the possesion arrow. Although this situation worked out OK at this level, I was trying to learn from it just in case it happened at a higher level. Here are some "what-ifs" using the same situation. Please help if you can...

Let's say for arguments sake that all of these "what-ifs" happen after the sub is waved onto the floor.

What-if...
#1 - player A1 puts the ball right back up and makes it?
#2 - player B1 rebounds and is fouled by A2?
#3 - player B1 rebounds and travels?

Thanks for your help!!

RR


jritchie Mon Oct 18, 2004 09:55am

Sounds like to me your partner was lost or still asleep...
 
if he was waving the players in looks like he had a dead ball after the shot was rebounded and the horn blew!!! i guess since he was waving them in, i would probably give the ball to A, since she rebounded the shot and let the subs in and go throw in on end line!!!

Back In The Saddle Mon Oct 18, 2004 11:25am

Inadvertant whistle-ish situation
 
This seems very close to an indavertant whistle situation. I'd probably invoke that rule's solution. If one team was in control of the ball, the ball would go back to them for a throw-in.

OTOH, it isn't an inadvertant whistle. The buzzer does not make the ball dead. In the first case, since everybody stopped and your partner waved the substitute in, you could get away with calling it "good as dead." That isn't a rule, obviously, but you gotta handle it somehow :)

In the other situations you posed, you've also got to handle it. As I said, the horn does not make the ball dead. And at least some of the players kept on playing. In all three of the situations you posed, I'm probably going to carry on as if the horn had not sounded and consider the action as it happened (i.e., count the basket, record the foul, call the violation).

Then I'm going to replace the clock operator since he's screwed up four times now :D

Nevadaref Tue Oct 19, 2004 08:29am

I believe that you were correct by the book. No whistle, play the game.
Now since your partner beckoned a substitute onto the court during a live ball, we have a mess.
That team actually has six team members participating!
Should we T them? :) Not if you're smart.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1