The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another back court question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15950-another-back-court-question.html)

Jay R Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:12pm

Got a beer riding on this one.

NCAA Rules. A1, standing in his back court, passes the ball which strikes an official standing in the front court. The ball bounces back to A1 in his back court. I say there is no back court violation because Team A never controlled the ball in its front court. Plus a Team A player was not the last player to touch the ball before it went in the back court. A fellow official disagrees and he is offering me a beer if I`m right.

ChuckElias Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:22pm

Better ask him if he likes bottled or draft. You lose. There is no requirement that the ball be "possessed" in the frontcourt. If you read the rule carefully, it only says that the team in control can't be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt, etc. The oft-posted requirements for a backcourt call are:

1) Team A has team control
2) Ball attains frontcourt status
3) A member of Team A is the last player to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt.
4) A member of Team A is the first player to touch the ball after it goes into the backcourt.

In your play, all 4 points are met. There was team control. The ball attained frontcourt status when it hit the official. A1 was the last player to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt, and then A1 was also the first to touch it after it went into the backcourt.

Violation!! Hope your buddy's not too thirsty. :)

BktBallRef Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:23pm

You're buying.

This is the one that many people get confused about. It is not necessary to for Team A to have player control in the FC.

1- Team control by Team A.
2- Ball attains FC status.
3- Team A is the last to touch the ball before it goes into the BC.
4- Team A is the first to touch the ball after it goes into the BC.

Violation.

BktBallRef Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:25pm

Darn we're good! :)

ChuckElias Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:36pm

The only reason "we're" good on that topic is b/c you taught me well.

BktBallRef Sun Oct 17, 2004 07:50pm

Group hug. :)

Jay R Sun Oct 17, 2004 08:08pm

Thanks guys. Tony, do you still have that back court violation quiz? It might be time for me look at that again.

BktBallRef Sun Oct 17, 2004 08:09pm

Probably soon.

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 17, 2004 08:28pm

Hmmmm, how sure are you?
 
He did say NCAA rules, did he not? It appears to me that the NCAA book reads a little differently:

Section 11. Ball in Back Court
Art. 1. A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court when the ball came from the front court while the playerÂ’s team was in team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court.

Would you rule that A1 caused the ball to go into the back court?

BktBallRef Sun Oct 17, 2004 08:32pm

Re: Hmmmm, how sure are you?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
He did say NCAA rules, did he not? It appears to me that the NCAA book reads a little differently:

Section 11. Ball in Back Court
Art. 1. A player shall not be the first to touch the ball in his or her back court when the ball came from the front court while the playerÂ’s team was in team control and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court.

Would you rule that A1 caused the ball to go into the back court?

Who causes a ball to go OOB? The last player to touch it.

Who has team control? Team A.
Did the ball attain FC status? Yes.
Who was the last player to touch the ball before it went into the BC? A1.
Who was the first player to touch the ball after it went into the BC? A1.

BC violation under NFHS or NCAA rules.

rainmaker Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:33pm

Re: Hmmmm, how sure are you?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
...and the player or a teammate caused the ball to go into the back court.

Would you rule that A1 caused the ball to go into the back court?

It's one of those situations where the people who wrote the books are using the words in a way that the normal person wouldn't. We have to be ab-normal and use "caused" to mean, "last to touch" regardless of who was the instrument of the physical action.

Leggs45 Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:25pm

Rule 4 Sec 44 Art. 3, it is a Backcourt violation.

Take a look at A.R. 31 in the 2004-2005 NCAA rule book, it's the same play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1