The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15819-correctable-error.html)

Stat-Man Sun Oct 10, 2004 12:29pm

NFHS Rules...

H14 fouls out, V3 at the line.
Official #1 tells H Coach 14 has 5 fouls.
V3 shoots and makes the first free throw before H14 is replaced.

Officials huddle and order the point taken off the board because it was a correctable error(?) Is that correct?

V3 made both free throws once H14 was replaced, so the point became rather moot (no pun intended) ;)

Back In The Saddle Sun Oct 10, 2004 01:19pm

I don't see how this is a correctable error situation.

a. They did not fail to award a merited free throw.
b. The free throw given was merited, even though the officials went about the details of handling a disqualified player in a free-throw situation in the wrong order.
c. They did not permit the wrong player to attempt the free throw.
d. They did not attempt the free throw at the wrong basket.
e. They did not erroneously count or cancel a score....until they ruled that a correctable error had occurred. But that's a different matter.

rpirtle Sun Oct 10, 2004 07:18pm

I agree with BITS...The only error that was made was in the administration of the disqualified player...and poor eye contact / communication.

ChuckElias Sun Oct 10, 2004 07:35pm

In HS, I agree that this is not correctable. However, I believe that NCAA officials received a clarification in a bulletin last season that instructed us to cancel the FT that was taken before the substitution and then reshoot the pair.

I think the rationale was that the ball can't become alive until after the disqualification procedure has been completed. I'll go back and look for the bulletin. Maybe somebody else can confirm this (or correct me if I'm wrong).

bob jenkins Sun Oct 10, 2004 07:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
In HS, I agree that this is not correctable. However, I believe that NCAA officials received a clarification in a bulletin last season that instructed us to cancel the FT that was taken before the substitution and then reshoot the pair.

I think the rationale was that the ball can't become alive until after the disqualification procedure has been completed. I'll go back and look for the bulletin. Maybe somebody else can confirm this (or correct me if I'm wrong).

NCAAW bulletin January 13, 2004, 2e.

NOte that the 2004-2005 FED Interp Situation 3 allows the FT to stand.

ChuckElias Sun Oct 10, 2004 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
NCAAW bulletin January 13, 2004, 2e.
Thanks, Bob. Is this interp to be used in Men's games? Or do we go with the FED ruling?

Stat-Man Sun Oct 10, 2004 11:08pm

Thanks
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
NOte that the 2004-2005 FED Interp Situation 3 allows the FT to stand. [/B]
Thanks, Bob. I've bookmarked this year's interps. (Surprised I didn't do it sooner).

Nevadaref Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:12am

Here's the Interp
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Note that the 2004-2005 FED Interp Situation 3 allows the FT to stand.
SITUATION 3: A1 is fouled by B2 and is awarded two free throws. The foul is B2’s fifth foul. The new trail official reports the fifth foul to Team B’s coach. Before a substitute is made, the lead official incorrectly permits A1 to attempt the first free throw. The officials realize the error and huddle to discuss the situation. RULING: The result of the first attempt shall stand. Team B’s head coach shall be notified of B2’s disqualification. Once B2 has been replaced, A1 shall attempt the second free throw. COMMENT: This is an official’s error and not a correctable-error situation according to Rule 2-10. (2-8-3, 4-14-1, 6-1-2c, 10-5-1d)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1