The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   "up and down" / travelling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/15691-up-down-travelling.html)

splinter Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:37pm

Hi guys. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Player A goes up for a shot, both feet leave the floor. Player B stuffs the shot, with no loss of possession by Player A - the ball never left his hands. Player A lands on the floor with the ball. Is this travelling? Does a specific rule cover this or is it an interpretation?

Thanks!

Nevadaref Sun Oct 03, 2004 10:56pm

Case Book 4.43.3 Situation A
It could be either a jump ball or traveling. It depends upon whether B1 prevented A1 from releasing the ball while airborne. If the release was prevented, it is a jump ball.

Isaak Mon Oct 04, 2004 01:39am

Definite travel ...

What if the player goes up for a shot, loses the handle (so it leaves his hands) then comes down with it?

Or if the opposition knocks the ball out of his hands temporarily, but the shooter catches it again before he touches the ground again?

I'm in FIBA country here, but any comments would be interesting.

Cheers Isaak

JRutledge Mon Oct 04, 2004 01:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by Isaak
Definite travel ...
That cannot be a travel. The shooter was not allowed to release the ball. All you can have is a jump ball.

Quote:

Originally posted by Isaak
What if the player goes up for a shot, loses the handle (so it leaves his hands) then comes down with it?
I guess you could have a travel on this one. According to <b>4.43.3 SITUATION A (play C)</b>

Quote:

Originally posted by Isaak
Or if the opposition knocks the ball out of his hands temporarily, but the shooter catches it again before he touches the ground again?
All you could have is just a blocked shot.

Quote:

Originally posted by Isaak
I'm in FIBA country here, but any comments would be interesting.

Cheers Isaak

We will not hold that against you.

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Oct 04, 2004 06:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Isaak


What if the player goes up for a shot, loses the handle (so it leaves his hands) then comes down with it?

For NFHS play, this play is legal. Accidental loss of player control = no travel. Assuming that the official judges that the player did lose control.

Quote:

Originally posted by Isaak

Or if the opposition knocks the ball out of his hands temporarily, but the shooter catches it again before he touches the ground again?

Cheers Isaak

Again the play is legal and there is nothing to call.

I should have also cited 4.25.2 in the post above.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1