![]() |
Hi, my name is Matt Zahler. I am a 1st year basketball official in Ohio. I had a discussion with a fellow official concerning the 3-point line and whether to declare a shot if a player has his/her toes on the line, but not over the line. Is this considered as a 3-pointer?
Thanks, Matt [email protected] |
Touching the line results in a 2 point shot.....
|
Rule 5, Section 2, Article 1
A successful try or tap from the field by a player who is located BEHIND the 19-foot, 9-inch line counts 3 points.....
|
Stepping on a line is bad.
If you step on a line, you can: - commit a jump ball violation - go out of bounds - commit an over and back violation - commit a free throw violation - commit a free throw lane violation - shot a 2 instead of a 3 from pretty much the same distance (This is of course assuming you have the ball in certain circumstances.) Did I miss any? :) ..Mike |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57am. |