The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   First 4A Varsity Game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/148-first-4a-varsity-game.html)

Ed M Wed Dec 08, 1999 12:07pm

I am in my 2nd year of officiating basketball. I have been assigned to a 4A Boys Varsity game Friday night. This is my first varsity game at any level and it will be my first game using 3-man mechanics. I am looking for all the advice and help that I can get. Please let me hear from you.

Bradley Batt Wed Dec 08, 1999 05:28pm

Stay in your primary!
Referee the defense!
Trust your partner!
Call the obvious!

Not original - but it works!

Buckley Wed Dec 08, 1999 06:13pm

Brad's advice is very good. Along with "call the obvious", also, "avoid the ridiculous". Referee like you belong there. Do not be timid. We need young officials to step up. Don't expect for the veterans to call something just because they are veterans. Step up and make calls that have to be made. In fact, as veterans, we are trained to stay in our primary, so we will not come out of it to bail anyone out, unless of course it is 'assault'. Remember, you are not out there alone. As a crew, be consistent, see the same game, and SURVIVE!

Congrats on the game. Have fun. Respond on how it goes.

Good luck!

b_silliman Wed Dec 08, 1999 08:15pm

Congratulations on a varsity game in your 2nd year. Is 4A the highest level in your state?

All previous was good advice. Additional items:
1. Have fun
2. Let the kid decide the game.

Jerry Baldwin Thu Dec 09, 1999 08:06pm