The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Jan 11, 2001, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member

Our local assoc. here in central IN is inviting a few of the area varsity coaches to our meeting this Sunday. If anybody has a good question they've always wanted to ask a coach, let me have them!
Old Thu Jan 11, 2001, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via ICQ to BigDave
HOW?!

I'm a coach using BigDave's computer.

My question is...

How do I get my head outta my a-s?

Sorry, couldn't resist.
Old Fri Jan 12, 2001, 12:11am
Official Forum Member

Wink

Just the standard.... How can you coach for this many years at this level and still not know the rules!? I know they love that one! Enjoy and good luck in the meeting.
Old Fri Jan 12, 2001, 02:01am
Official Forum Member

Wink Coache's question

We had coaches at several of our meetings in the past . At one that I have never forgotten someone asked the coach what were the 3 most important characteristics he wanted to see in an official. The coach responded with no hesitation. " Iwant the officials to be Friendly (communicative) Fair and Firm!
Think about it - if you have mastered these 3 things you are well on your way to the higher levels.
Suggest you ask that question and see what you get;and report back to all of us on this forum the coach's answers. I'm sure we'd all be interested.
Old Fri Jan 12, 2001, 08:25am
Official Forum Member

How about asking what they think of the way points of emphasis are being handled and what they think POE should be for next year?
Old Sat Jan 13, 2001, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member

Friendly Fair and Firm

If coaches want us to be firm, then why do they always plead to try and change decisions?
Old Sat Jan 13, 2001, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member

Wink