The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Closely Guarded (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/14199-closely-guarded.html)

mick Tue Jun 22, 2004 05:42am

Who is Bill Kennedy?
Who is John Galt?
mick

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 08:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
[B}

Where is your rule support?

Take a look at how the rules define guarding. That i smy rule support, as I have been claiming since about page 2 of this thread.

"Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the PATH...."

Maybe to you PATH means the direction you think something SHOULD be going.

To me it means the direction something IS going.

You still have not answered Chuck's A1 backing up, or my parallel path question and how they apply to closely guarded. WHY? Neither have B1 directly in the path of A1.

I still say under your interp, you can never have a 5 second
count. A1 just needs to turn away every 4 seconds. How does that fit the intent of the rule?

FYI, I spoke with Bill Kennedy tonight, so I asked him how he calls it. He said by LGP, within 6 feet, and actively guarding. He also said, that it is silly to expect B1 to defend a boundary and that the direction A1 is moving does not matter.
While I certainly hate to interject myself into an argument between Junior and the Codgerly Crotch( or was it vice/versa?), can I make a point without worrying about having the wrath of you two fall on my head?
[/b]

No! Now shut up & go away, I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal, food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.

Quote:


If A1 changes direction- sideways, backwards, etc,- isn't A1 also changing or altering his path at the same time? There's nothing in the rule book that says that the dribbler's "path" had to remain in a straight line.



Are you still here? Of course the path doesn't have to stay the same...but by definition the person guarding is required to be in the path.

Now go away before I taunt you a second time!
Quote:



And if the defender similary moves sideways, forwards, etc. as the dribbler is going sideways, backwards, etc. in his altered path, and the defender still continually remains within 6 feet of the dribbler, hasn't the defender met the concepts contained in Rule 4-10 (<s>staying</s> guarding within 6 feet of the dribbler) and also Rule 4-23-3a&b (moving laterally or obliquely with the dribbler while not being required at the same time to be continuously facing the dribbler)?



I fixed it for ya
Quote:



Of course if you disagree, feel free to continue for another week or two. I've got plenty of popcorn.


Enjoy your popcorn and don't forget to save some of it for Ben Kennedy....mumble mumble cough i hope you choke on it you old bas.....cough cough....

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 08:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra

FYI, I spoke with Bill Kennedy tonight, so I asked him how he calls it. He said by LGP, within 6 feet, and actively guarding. He also said, that it is silly to expect B1 to defend a boundary and that the direction A1 is moving does not matter.

How nice for you and Bill Kennedy.

Why not answer the questions Dan?

I already explained why the questions are irrelevant.

They have nothing to do with the wording of the rule.

But apparently Bob Kennedy answered your questions. Just do what he told you to do.

It's Bill Kennedy, and you have said they are irrelevant, but that does not make it so.

You have said in the turning away and moving away from the basket that the count ends because B1 is no longer in the path.


No, what I have said is the rule book says it's irrelevant. I have not said a word about my own *opinion*, because *my opinion* does not dictate what the rule book *says*.

Maybe yours does, but not mine.

BTW, my apologies to Brad Kennedy

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 22, 2004 09:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref

[/b]
No! Now shut up & go away, I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal, food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.

[/B][/QUOTE] Well!!! That's the LAST time that I'll sell YOU a dead parrot!

Btw, I'm not leaving either until I find out whointhehell Bruce Kennedy is. And I don't have a clue whereinthehell John Galt popped outa either. Inquiring minds need to know!

Now I'm going to put the popcorn on.

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 09:12am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref


No! Now shut up & go away, I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal, food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.

[/B]
Well!!! That's the LAST time that I'll sell YOU a dead parrot!

Btw, I'm not leaving either until I find out whointhehell Bruce Kennedy is. And I don't have a clue whereinthehell John Galt popped outa either. Inquiring minds need to know!

Now I'm going to put the popcorn on. [/B][/QUOTE]

No no...it's not dead, it's just resting.

And you should really be ashamed of yourself for not knowing who Bart Kennedy is! :(

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 22, 2004 09:22am

Hey, I know who Brian Kennedy is.

But whointhehell is John Galt? A destroyer or a liberator?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 22nd, 2004 at 10:28 AM]

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 09:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Hey, I know who Brian Kennedy is.

But whinthehell is John Galt? A destroyer or a liberator?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 22nd, 2004 at 10:24 AM]

I think John Galt is Brendan Kennedy's second cousin twice removed...I heard he's a real geography buff, loves to read the atlas... :shrug:

Camron Rust Tue Jun 22, 2004 11:39am

According to Dan_ref's interpretation, a defender must be in the PATH of the opponent to have a closely guarded count. Let's assume that is true.

Does a stationary player have a path? Since path, as Dan is defining it, is the direction a player is actually moving, the answer must be no.

This precludes a player that is holding the ball from ever violating the closely guarded rule.

It is quite clear that the intent is for a player holding the ball to be liable for being closely guarded.

Therefore, PATH can not strictly mean the direction a player is actually moving.

Another way to look at it. If I go hiking and come to the point in the woods where 3 paths intersect. No matter which one I actually take, they are all still paths. The unchosen paths don't disappear just because they are not taken.

PATH is any direction that the play may wish to take.

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

PATH is any direction that the play may wish to take.

I think that that was I was trying to say. Didn't do it as well.

mick Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

PATH is any direction that the play may wish to take.

I think that that was I was trying to say. Didn't do it as well.

Ben Wallace
front court
holding the ball
wants to pass
not gonna dribble

Must we now adjudge intent of path ?
Silly.

mick




Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
According to Dan_ref's interpretation, a defender must be in the PATH of the opponent to have a closely guarded count. Let's assume that is true.

Does a stationary player have a path? Since path, as Dan is defining it, is the direction a player is actually moving, the answer must be no.

This precludes a player that is holding the ball from ever violating the closely guarded rule.

It is quite clear that the intent is for a player holding the ball to be liable for being closely guarded.

Therefore, PATH can not strictly mean the direction a player is actually moving.

Another way to look at it. If I go hiking and come to the point in the woods where 3 paths intersect. No matter which one I actually take, they are all still paths. The unchosen paths don't disappear just because they are not taken.

PATH is any direction that the play may wish to take.

Two very good arguments. However:

- I agree a strict reading of the rule might preclude closely held while holding the ball. But I don't believe that fact alone allows us to alter the rule to make it consistent. It's just a poorly worded rule. I'm not saying there's not a common undertanding of the intent, I'm just saying to the unitiated it is clear as mud.

- If you look up the definition fr PATH you'll see that there is more than 1 definition for the word. Obviously there are an infinite number of "paths" a player MIGHT take in the sense you use it. However, when a player moves he establishes THE "path" upon which he travels.
(As usual Mick said this much better than I.)

Make sense?

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

PATH is any direction that the play may wish to take.

I think that that was I was trying to say. Didn't do it as well.

Ben Wallace
front court
holding the ball
wants to pass
not gonna dribble

Must we now adjudge intent of path ?
Silly.


No, you just make sure that the defender assumes an LGP in front of ol' Ben before you start the count. That's assumed to be in his path. Then you keep the count going until Ben dribbles or passes. The defender has to remain in front and within 6 feet of Ben though. If the defender runs around behind Ben, even though he stays within 6 feet of him, I don't think that you can say that the defender was still guarding him. I don't think that anyone has said anything different than that. Not even Bert Kennedy.

Of course, I'm completely confused now anyway. I think that I'll just go get some popcorn and sit this one out for a while.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 22nd, 2004 at 01:30 PM]

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust

PATH is any direction that the play may wish to take.

I think that that was I was trying to say. Didn't do it as well.

Ben Wallace
front court
holding the ball
wants to pass
not gonna dribble

Must we now adjudge intent of path ?
Silly.


No, you just make sure that the defender assumes an LGP in front of ol' Ben before you start the count. That's assumed to be in his path. Then you keep the count going until Ben dribbles or passes. The defender has to remain in front and within 6 feet of Ben though. If the defender runs around behind Ben, even though he stays within 6 feet of him, I don't think that you can say that the defender was still guarding him. I don't think that anyone has said anything different than that. Not even Bert Kennedy.

Of course, I completely confused now anyway. I think that I'll just go get some popcorn and sit this one out for a while.

Me too.

Maybe we need to invite Blaine (just going down the list) Kennedy in to give us a lecture on this stuff?

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:53pm

Quote:


Of course, I completely confused now anyway. I think that I'll just go get some popcorn and sit this one out for a while. [/B]
Me too.

[/B][/QUOTE] Oh no, Goober. You ain't going anywhere. You started this one. No popcorn until you and Blind Zebra finish it. Which is probably gonna be next October the way you two are going.

Unless Bubba Kennedy can mediate an end to it before that. I wish him luck. He's got a better chance of negotiating peace on the Left Bank than he has of doing that.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 22nd, 2004 at 01:55 PM]

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:


Of course, I completely confused now anyway. I think that I'll just go get some popcorn and sit this one out for a while.
Me too.

[/B]
Oh no, Goober. You ain't going anywhere. You started this one. No popcorn until you and Blind Zebra finish it. Which is probably gonna be next October the way you two are going.

Unless Bubba Kennedy can mediate an end to it before that. I wish him luck. He's got a better chance of negotiating peace on the Left Bank than he has of doing that.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 22nd, 2004 at 01:55 PM] [/B][/QUOTE]

Peace on the left bank? We'll need to call Baahir Kennedy in for that one I'm afraid.

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:


Of course, I completely confused now anyway. I think that I'll just go get some popcorn and sit this one out for a while.
Me too.

[/B]
Oh no, Goober. You ain't going anywhere. You started this one. No popcorn until you and Blind Zebra finish it. Which is probably gonna be next October the way you two are going.

Unless Bubba Kennedy can mediate an end to it before that. I wish him luck. He's got a better chance of negotiating peace on the Left Bank than he has of doing that.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jun 22nd, 2004 at 01:55 PM] [/B][/QUOTE]

What's to finish? He'll never answer the questions that show he is wrong about path, so what's the point.

You, don't want Yack Kennedy in on the resolution of this or it WILL be October 2008, before it is finished. :D

I ref him in a men's league here in Phoenix. I have for years, so I asked him. Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)

mick Tue Jun 22, 2004 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)
Oh, Yack Kennedy is a college official!
Thanks.


blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)
Oh, Yack Kennedy is a college official!
Thanks.


We actually have two Bill Kennedys in Phoenix. Yack and little Bill the NBA official.

Since my little name drop amuses all of you, I'll ask Tommy Nunez and Tommy JR next. Then I'll ask Ron and Darryl Garretson to add their two cents. I'll pose it to Ed Rush after that, you guys will need to call a paramedic you'll be laughing so hard. :D

mick Tue Jun 22, 2004 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra

Since my little name drop amuses all of you...

The only college official that I can think of (without help) is my hero, Bert Smith.
...Course, I don't git out much.
mick

Jurassic Referee Tue Jun 22, 2004 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
[/B]
Since my little name drop amuses all of you, I'll ask Tommy Nunez and Tommy JR next. Then I'll ask Ron and Darryl Garretson to add their two cents. I'll pose it to Ed Rush after that, you guys will need to call a paramedic you'll be laughing so hard.

[/B][/QUOTE]Well, you're probably right there. Name-dropping usually does amuse most of us. Doesn't impress too many of us though. Unless they slept in a Holiday Inn Express last night, of course. Iow, Ol' Zack Kennedy's opinion ain't any better or worse than anybody's elses is here.

rainmaker Tue Jun 22, 2004 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)
Oh, Yack Kennedy is a college official!
Thanks.


We actually have two Bill Kennedys in Phoenix. Yack and little Bill the NBA official.

Since my little name drop amuses all of you, I'll ask Tommy Nunez and Tommy JR next. Then I'll ask Ron and Darryl Garretson to add their two cents. I'll pose it to Ed Rush after that, you guys will need to call a paramedic you'll be laughing so hard. :D

BZ -- the question isn't one of authority, it's of interpretation. How does the NF want us to handle these murky situations? College or NBA refs won't help us here. They don't have the authority of the NFHS rules committee. You may be right about how it needs to be handled. Dan may also be right, or the answer may be some compromise between the two positions. The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues. That's not something Nunez can help me with -- he doesn't do any high school games around here.

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)
Oh, Yack Kennedy is a college official!
Thanks.


We actually have two Bill Kennedys in Phoenix. Yack and little Bill the NBA official.

Since my little name drop amuses all of you, I'll ask Tommy Nunez and Tommy JR next. Then I'll ask Ron and Darryl Garretson to add their two cents. I'll pose it to Ed Rush after that, you guys will need to call a paramedic you'll be laughing so hard. :D

BZ -- the question isn't one of authority, it's of interpretation. How does the NF want us to handle these murky situations? College or NBA refs won't help us here. They don't have the authority of the NFHS rules committee. You may be right about how it needs to be handled. Dan may also be right, or the answer may be some compromise between the two positions. The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues. That's not something Nunez can help me with -- he doesn't do any high school games around here.

Part two was a joke.

Dan has brought up the use of path in NF and NCAA in his posts. Did you know that the NCAA rule for closely guarded says 6 feet and in a guarding stance? Let's add that to the confusion.

You have never said if you would stop your count on A1 if you had a count and they turn and retreat with B1 agressively following within 6 feet, would you?


Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)
Oh, Yack Kennedy is a college official!
Thanks.


We actually have two Bill Kennedys in Phoenix. Yack and little Bill the NBA official.

Since my little name drop amuses all of you, I'll ask Tommy Nunez and Tommy JR next. Then I'll ask Ron and Darryl Garretson to add their two cents. I'll pose it to Ed Rush after that, you guys will need to call a paramedic you'll be laughing so hard. :D

BZ -- the question isn't one of authority, it's of interpretation. How does the NF want us to handle these murky situations? College or NBA refs won't help us here. They don't have the authority of the NFHS rules committee. You may be right about how it needs to be handled. Dan may also be right, or the answer may be some compromise between the two positions. The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues. That's not something Nunez can help me with -- he doesn't do any high school games around here.

While I agree 100% with you on this I'll take issue with this part:

Quote:

You may be right about how it needs to be handled. Dan may also be right, or the answer may be some compromise between the two positions.
Dan has not given his position on how this should be handled, except I did slip & say I do not end my 5 counts while the dribbler has his back to the defender and is moving away from him - not an all inclusive statement just an answer to Chuck's specific question. All I keep saying is while there are acceptable ways of handling the closely guarded counts the rules are not written clearly enough, period. And I don't care what Zamir Kennedy thinks or how many names fall out of his pockets while he's telling us.

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra


Part two was a joke.

Dan has brought up the use of path in NF and NCAA in his posts. Did you know that the NCAA rule for closely guarded says 6 feet and in a guarding stance? Let's add that to the confusion.




Yes, I do know what it says but I'll bite.

Why is this so confusing? It is virtually identical to the fed, which does not include the word "stance" I believe. And if you look at the ncaa definition of "guarding" you'll see it uses that damn word again.


blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Go ahead and make fun, Lord knows none of us can use the opinion of somebody that works over 100 D1 games a year in the Big 12, Pac 10, and about 5 other conferences. ;)
Oh, Yack Kennedy is a college official!
Thanks.


We actually have two Bill Kennedys in Phoenix. Yack and little Bill the NBA official.

Since my little name drop amuses all of you, I'll ask Tommy Nunez and Tommy JR next. Then I'll ask Ron and Darryl Garretson to add their two cents. I'll pose it to Ed Rush after that, you guys will need to call a paramedic you'll be laughing so hard. :D

BZ -- the question isn't one of authority, it's of interpretation. How does the NF want us to handle these murky situations? College or NBA refs won't help us here. They don't have the authority of the NFHS rules committee. You may be right about how it needs to be handled. Dan may also be right, or the answer may be some compromise between the two positions. The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues. That's not something Nunez can help me with -- he doesn't do any high school games around here.

While I agree 100% with you on this I'll take issue with this part:

Quote:

You may be right about how it needs to be handled. Dan may also be right, or the answer may be some compromise between the two positions.
Dan has not given his position on how this should be handled, except I did slip & say I do not end my 5 counts while the dribbler has his back to the defender and is moving away from him - not an all inclusive statement just an answer to Chuck's specific question. All I keep saying is while there are acceptable ways of handling the closely guarded counts the rules are not written clearly enough, period. And I don't care what Zamir Kennedy thinks or how many names fall out of his pockets while he's telling us.

So we all misread the following, " BTW, if A1 turns his back & dribbles away from the basket, no way in hell I'm calling 5 seconds!" Sure sounds like you do end your count to me.

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra


Part two was a joke.

Dan has brought up the use of path in NF and NCAA in his posts. Did you know that the NCAA rule for closely guarded says 6 feet and in a guarding stance? Let's add that to the confusion.




Yes, I do know what it says but I'll bite.

Why is this so confusing? It is virtually identical to the fed, which does not include the word "stance" I believe. And if you look at the ncaa definition of "guarding" you'll see it uses that damn word again.


I take stance to mean actively guarding, not just standing there, within 6 feet.

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
... I do not end my 5 counts while the dribbler has his back to the defender and is moving away from him...
So we all misread the following, " BTW, if A1 turns his back & dribbles away from the basket, no way in hell I'm calling 5 seconds!" Sure sounds like you do end your count to me.

Maybe you can explain to us how these 2 are different?

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
... I do not end my 5 counts while the dribbler has his back to the defender and is moving away from him...
So we all misread the following, " BTW, if A1 turns his back & dribbles away from the basket, no way in hell I'm calling 5 seconds!" Sure sounds like you do end your count to me.

Maybe you can explain to us how these 2 are different?

In the first you said, " I do NOT end my 5 counts," so when you reach 5 you would call 5 seconds.

In the second you said," No way in hell I'm calling 5 seconds!"

In the first you do not specify basket, but you do in the second.

So in the first, as written, you would call 5 seconds in the following play.

A1 is facing away from their basket, B1 is guarding in the path toward the back court, your count begins. A1 then turns TOWARD their basket, away from B1 and you would call 5 seconds.

That makes sense.

Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
... I do not end my 5 counts while the dribbler has his back to the defender and is moving away from him...
So we all misread the following, " BTW, if A1 turns his back & dribbles away from the basket, no way in hell I'm calling 5 seconds!" Sure sounds like you do end your count to me.

Maybe you can explain to us how these 2 are different?

In the first you said, " I do NOT end my 5 counts," so when you reach 5 you would call 5 seconds.

In the second you said," No way in hell I'm calling 5 seconds!"


OK, I gotcha.

When I said "I do not end my 5 counts" I meant I don't call a 5 second violation. Poorly worded, my mistake.


rainmaker Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues.
You have never said if you would stop your count on A1 if you had a count and they turn and retreat with B1 agressively following within 6 feet, would you?


No, I haven't said, and I'm not going to. The whole point of this thread in the first place was to figure out what I'm supposed to do, I we definitely haven't reached that point! Why should I say what I do? It's meaningless. The question isn't what do I think, what does BZ think, what does Dan think, what does the majority of refs think, or any other opinion. The question is, what's the official, proper NF-approved way to handle it, and the answer is WE DON"T KNOW.

footlocker Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:37pm

Man, I can't believe after reading this many pages I'm jumping in.

Dan, you frustrated with junior yet?

BZ, you got yourself in trouble here because you began to interpret the rule as if it were clear. (And as if you were on the rules committee.) It looks as if Dan took exception to that and simply asked for you to back up your position with a rule. You can’t. You lose.

You have even admitted that the rule is unclear since your original post. You could have avoided the entire thing by simply saying, “There is no rule to back up my interpretation completely. This is how I call it though.”

Dan, do I win a Coke?

Camron Rust Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues.
You have never said if you would stop your count on A1 if you had a count and they turn and retreat with B1 agressively following within 6 feet, would you?


No, I haven't said, and I'm not going to. The whole point of this thread in the first place was to figure out what I'm supposed to do, I we definitely haven't reached that point! Why should I say what I do? It's meaningless. The question isn't what do I think, what does BZ think, what does Dan think, what does the majority of refs think, or any other opinion. The question is, what's the official, proper NF-approved way to handle it, and the answer is WE DON"T KNOW.

I wonder what the casebook says....

9.10.1 SITUATION C: Team A has the ball in its own frontcourt. B1 stands within 6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. Ruling: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant.


Hmmm. The situation only puts B1 within 6ft and facing the A1 and the ruling is closely guarded and the result is a violation. It goes on to say that the body position and movement are irrelevant.

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
Man, I can't believe after reading this many pages I'm jumping in.

Dan, you frustrated with junior yet?

BZ, you got yourself in trouble here because you began to interpret the rule as if it were clear. (And as if you were on the rules committee.) It looks as if Dan took exception to that and simply asked for you to back up your position with a rule. You can’t. You lose.

You have even admitted that the rule is unclear since your original post. You could have avoided the entire thing by simply saying, “There is no rule to back up my interpretation completely. This is how I call it though.”

Dan, do I win a Coke?

Glad to be here for your amusement.:D

At least I tried to apply a logical spin to a poorly written, badly organized rule book, to answer the question put forth in this post.

REWIND:

How I call closely guarded:

LGP is my main guide, path also includes between A1 and the basket, and the orientation of A1's body does not end my count.

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The answer is completely unavailable, because it doesn't depend on your logic, my logic or anyone else's logic. It depends on the Rules Committee and what they decide. In the meantime, we have to each do the best we can with how it is called in our associations, or our local high school leagues.
You have never said if you would stop your count on A1 if you had a count and they turn and retreat with B1 agressively following within 6 feet, would you?


No, I haven't said, and I'm not going to. The whole point of this thread in the first place was to figure out what I'm supposed to do, I we definitely haven't reached that point! Why should I say what I do? It's meaningless. The question isn't what do I think, what does BZ think, what does Dan think, what does the majority of refs think, or any other opinion. The question is, what's the official, proper NF-approved way to handle it, and the answer is WE DON"T KNOW.

I wonder what the casebook says....

9.10.1 SITUATION C: Team A has the ball in its own frontcourt. B1 stands within 6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. Ruling: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant.


Hmmm. The situation only puts B1 within 6ft and facing the A1 and the ruling is closely guarded and the result is a violation. It goes on to say that the body position and movement are irrelevant.

I used that 4 or 5 pages ago. Did not work for me, but go ahead. :D

Camron Rust Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust


I wonder what the casebook says....

9.10.1 SITUATION C: Team A has the ball in its own frontcourt. B1 stands within 6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. Ruling: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant.


Hmmm. The situation only puts B1 within 6ft and facing the A1 and the ruling is closely guarded and the result is a violation. It goes on to say that the body position and movement are irrelevant.

I used that 4 or 5 pages ago. Did not work for me, but go ahead. :D

Oh, didn't remember anyone mentioning it but among the 9 pages (soon to be 10, 11, or even 12 !!!) it's not hard to miss something. ;)

Camron Rust Tue Jun 22, 2004 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra

Glad to be here for your amusement.:D

At least I tried to apply a logical spin to a poorly written, badly organized rule book, to answer the question put forth in this post.

REWIND:

How I call closely guarded:

LGP is my main guide, path also includes between A1 and the basket, and the orientation of A1's body does not end my count. [/B]
I'm one who thinks that the rulebook is not actually that poorly written (in a few spots perhaps, but not in general). I think it's just that many of us, not unlike our coach and spectator counterparts, come into it already believing the rule is something and when it doesn't seem to agree with what they think, we automatically declare it a poorly written rule rather than simply admitting we read it wrong. I've certainly been guilty of that.


blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust


I wonder what the casebook says....

9.10.1 SITUATION C: Team A has the ball in its own frontcourt. B1 stands within 6 feet and facing A1 while A1 is holding the ball near the division line. Ruling: In five seconds this would be a violation. In the situation outlined, as soon as B1 has assumed a guarding position, both feet on the floor, facing the opponent, no other specific requirement is in effect. The amount of movement or the actual body position of the player is irrelevant.


Hmmm. The situation only puts B1 within 6ft and facing the A1 and the ruling is closely guarded and the result is a violation. It goes on to say that the body position and movement are irrelevant.

I used that 4 or 5 pages ago. Did not work for me, but go ahead. :D

Oh, didn't remember anyone mentioning it but among the 9 pages (soon to be 10, 11, or even 12 !!!) it's not hard to miss something. ;)

The first time I used it was on page 3. It really is the only thing that comes anywhere close to saying what should be the critical factor in judging closely guarded.

rainmaker Tue Jun 22, 2004 06:49pm

You know, there's another twist to this. Which emphasizes my point, so I'll throw it out here. And that is the word, "facing." I've always thought that when B1 is "facing" A1, that A1 may or may not be facing B1. In other words, that "facing" means only where B1's face is and doesn't say anything about A1's face. That they don't have to be face to face for B1 to be "facing." It sounds as though several of you, at least, are using "facing" to mean that A1 and B1 are front to front. Any thoughts on this one?

blindzebra Tue Jun 22, 2004 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra

Glad to be here for your amusement.:D

At least I tried to apply a logical spin to a poorly written, badly organized rule book, to answer the question put forth in this post.

REWIND:

How I call closely guarded:

LGP is my main guide, path also includes between A1 and the basket, and the orientation of A1's body does not end my count.
I'm one who thinks that the rulebook is not actually that poorly written (in a few spots perhaps, but not in general). I think it's just that many of us, not unlike our coach and spectator counterparts, come into it already believing the rule is something and when it doesn't seem to agree with what they think, we automatically declare it a poorly written rule rather than simply admitting we read it wrong. I've certainly been guilty of that.

[/B]
I think it is more the case of either not clearly defining the rule, like in this thread or the 4-23 mess this year, or having to gather bits and pieces from several areas of the book to fully apply the rules.

We have used 4-10, 4-23, 9-10, and 10-6-2 to discuss this topic, and we still don't have a concrete interpretation.

mick Tue Jun 22, 2004 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
We have used 4-10, 4-23, 9-10, and 10-6-2 to discuss this topic, and we still don't have a concrete interpretation.
Ah, yes!
But, due to the posts these rules have created, perhaps some sage will explore a clarification.
That's happened more than a few times around here. :)
mick


Dan_ref Tue Jun 22, 2004 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
Man, I can't believe after reading this many pages I'm jumping in.

Dan, you frustrated with junior yet?



Nah..I'm the proud owner of 2 teenagers. This stuff is easy...

"You didn't put gas in my car"
"I'll do it tomorrow night"
"But it needs gas now & I gotta drive to east farawayplace tomorrow morning"
"I SAID I would put gas in it tomorrow night, didn't I??!!! BTW Dad, can you lend me 20?"
Quote:



BZ, you got yourself in trouble here because you began to interpret the rule as if it were clear. (And as if you were on the rules committee.) It looks as if Dan took exception to that and simply asked for you to back up your position with a rule. You can’t. You lose.

You have even admitted that the rule is unclear since your original post. You could have avoided the entire thing by simply saying, “There is no rule to back up my interpretation completely. This is how I call it though.”

Dan, do I win a Coke?

A Coke? You win an entire 6 pack for reading through this entire mess! :)

rainmaker Wed Jun 23, 2004 12:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Nah..I'm the proud owner of 2 teenagers. This stuff is easy...

"You didn't put gas in my car"
"I'll do it tomorrow night"
"But it needs gas now & I gotta drive to east farawayplace tomorrow morning"
"I SAID I would put gas in it tomorrow night, didn't I??!!! BTW Dad, can you lend me 20?"


"Mom, my stomach hurts and I've got a fever. I'm going to bed."
"Darlin', didn't you say you had a test today?"
"Yea, but Ms. So-and-so will understand."
"If you say so. Shall I call Cute-fella's mom and tell her you won't be at the dance tonight?"
"Oh, I'll be a lot better by then."

ChuckElias Wed Jun 23, 2004 08:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
"But it needs gas now & I gotta drive to east farawayplace tomorrow morning"
I've heard of this place, but it usually has a different name. . . ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1