The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Traveling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1406-traveling.html)

Rookie Mon Jan 08, 2001 10:32pm

In case we haven't gotten enough of these lately...

Player has ball and no dribble to use. She maintains her Left foot as pivot and places her right knee on the ground?

Traveling?

williebfree Mon Jan 08, 2001 10:47pm

IF the pivot foot remains stationary
 
No violation.

Peter Devana Mon Jan 08, 2001 11:42pm

Feedback positive

BktBallRef Tue Jan 09, 2001 12:13am

Oops! Sorry guys but this is traveling. The fact that the pivot foot doesn't move is irrelevant. You can't touch the floor with any part of the body except the hand or foot if you're holding the ball. If you do, it's traveling. 4-43-5a

co2ice Tue Jan 09, 2001 12:16am

B-ballref: 4:43.5a Says this is a travel. I believe the book!

[Edited by co2ice on Jan 8th, 2001 at 11:21 PM]

BktBallRef Tue Jan 09, 2001 12:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Oops! Sorry guys but this is traveling. The fact that the pivot foot doesn't move is irrelevant. You can't touch the floor with any part of the body except the hand or foot if you're holding the ball. If you do, it's traveling. 4-43-5a
Quote:

Originally posted by co2ice
B-ballref: 4:43.5a Says this is a travel. I believe the book!
I think we agree, don't we?

Peter Devana Tue Jan 09, 2001 02:55am

Travelling- Your Kidding?
 
Can someone tell me if this is true under NCAA Men's rules -for sure???
If so you have done us a service up here as we are just going back to NCAA Men's rules after a 25 year absence doing FIBA and we have not yet received our Case Books- Help Again!!!

mick Tue Jan 09, 2001 08:28am

Re: Travelling- a little different in NCAA
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Peter Devana
Can someone tell me if this is true under NCAA Men's rules -for sure???
If so you have done us a service up here as we are just going back to NCAA Men's rules after a 25 year absence doing FIBA and we have not yet received our Case Books- Help Again!!!

Pistol,
From NCAA rule book (A.R.35) "When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling when the pivot foot moves."

Feel better now? ;)

mick

bob jenkins Tue Jan 09, 2001 08:30am

Re: Travelling- Your Kidding?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Peter Devana
Can someone tell me if this is true under NCAA Men's rules -for sure???
If so you have done us a service up here as we are just going back to NCAA Men's rules after a 25 year absence doing FIBA and we have not yet received our Case Books- Help Again!!!

It is not a travel under NCAA rules, unless the pivot foot moves. 4-60-5, AR35, last sentence.

glind Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:13am

A little twist on the subject
 
First of all it is a travel and you guys (co2ice and BktBallRef) do agree and I have the same rule 4:43.5a.

Now the twist!
If the player has one foot on the floor and one knee and then recovers the ball, can she get up?

I say no because of rule 4:43.5b but I called it and my partner and the coach both thought I was wrong because she had her pivot "FOOT" I didn't no which rule it was and I have not seen these guys since, now that I know which rule. I was right, wasn't I?

One more thing can she start her dribble and get off the floor?

mick Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:23am

Re: A little twist on the subject
 
Quote:

Originally posted by glind
First of all it is a travel and you guys (co2ice and BktBallRef) do agree and I have the same rule 4:43.5a.

Now the twist!
If the player has one foot on the floor and one knee and then recovers the ball, can she get up?

I say no because of rule 4:43.5b but I called it and my partner and the coach both thought I was wrong because she had her pivot "FOOT" I didn't no which rule it was and I have not seen these guys since, now that I know which rule. I was right, wasn't I?

One more thing can she start her dribble and get off the floor?

glind,
Good call. The player may not merely stand in High School (but may stand in College). And yes, she may start a dribble and get up from one or two knees, from her stomach, from her back and rise after recovering a ball.
Now, if she was recovering her own fumble after a dribble, we know that changes the whole scenario of starting another dribble.
mick

Indy_Ref Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:25am

Re: A little twist on the subject
 
Quote:

Originally posted by glind

Now the twist!
If the player has one foot on the floor and one knee and then recovers the ball, can she get up?

I say no because of rule 4:43.5b but I called it and my partner and the coach both thought I was wrong because she had her pivot "FOOT" I didn't no which rule it was and I have not seen these guys since, now that I know which rule. I was right, wasn't I?

One more thing can she start her dribble and get off the floor?

I believe the player can dribble first, then get up...just as if he were lying on the floor, started his dribble, BEFORE he got up.

Citing the same 4-43-5b, I do NOT believe she can stand up BEFORE putting the ball on the floor.

[Edited by Indy_Ref on Jan 9th, 2001 at 09:28 AM]

BktBallRef Tue Jan 09, 2001 10:57am

glind, mick and Indy_Ref are all correct. She can't get up without dribbling first.

Peter Devana Tue Jan 09, 2001 03:16pm

Thanx everyone for the quick responses.

Rookie Tue Jan 09, 2001 05:38pm

Here I though I was going to get lambasted for asking this question, sometimes if a question gets asked more than once, patience runs thin around here.

Thanks for all the responses...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1