![]() |
cameron, what if a player runs out-of-bounds on purpose, possibly running the length of the baseline(underneath the basket) then comes in-bounds on the other side of the front court and receives a "swung" pass? Is this legal? Or runs out-of-bounds almost the full length of the sideline on a fast break, only to enter in-bounds underneath their basket as an outlet? Sounds crazy but it happened at one of my games. Thanks for your response.
|
This is a "T". A player cannot leave the court to gain an advantage like this. Depending on the level of play I would give a warning.
|
It's a technical foul in both cases. Rule 10-3-4: "A player shall not leave the court for an unauthorized reason or delay returning after legally being out of bounds."
BTW, there's no "e" in Camron... |
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Ron Pilo on 12-09-1999 10:29 AM
This is a "T". A player cannot leave the court to gain an advantage like this. Depending on the level of play I would give a warning.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE> What is this level of play business? I called the T in a Girls JH game. She gains an advantage she gets a T. No advantage then a warning. |
I've only had this happen once, several years ago. Didn't call it as a T, but did call it as a violation and gave it to the other team.
Coach almost had kittens. Claimed that no one else had ever called it before... It was a move directly out of their playbook. [This message has been edited by PublicBJ (edited December 09, 1999).] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24am. |